Write a review about San Diego Tell people what you like or don't like about San Diego…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Endless areas to explore in SD

Attractions8/10
Community6/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
San Diego is huge when you think about it. I was born here and lived here my entire life up until three years ago. You will never run out of things to do. There are lots of different malls, different restaurants, different stores. You can go to the La Jolla beaches to experience some of the most beautiful scenic views, you can go to Fashion Valley Mall to shop for whatever your heart desires, you can go to Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, and any number of other grocery stores in the area. You can go Downtown to party, Ocean Beach - Pacific Beach - or Mission Beach to surf, there's so many restaurants scattered around everywhere its pretty awesome. As much as San Diego has to offer I don't find myself missing it that much - it's expensive to live there and after you've done everything it starts to just be "alright". If you can afford it here, then it's a really good place to live because you'll never run out of different areas to explore. San Diego State University is also a great campus with a lot of things to do around that area for the college kids. I've never experienced crime myself in San Diego and I lived there for 20 years.
  • Report
OctoberRosePosted on Sep 26, 2014
GREAT PLACE TO LIVE-BUT VERY EXPENSIVE

Attractions8/10
Community10/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining8/10
Shopping7/10
I am fortunate in that I work full time and have a pension, which allows me to live fairly comfortably here. However, for many, the cost of living is too high to make ends meet. Having said that, living in San Diego is great. The weather is perfect; there is plenty of safe housing in communities with lots of parks, shopping, and other stuff to do. The trolley and other forms of mass transit are affordable and accessible to most of the county. Commuting on the freeways can be challenging, but a little planning goes a long way. I have lived here for 4 years and look forward to many more. The job market in the greater San Diego area is good; I found employment quickly when I beeded to, and had plenty of options as far as who to apply to and what to ask for. My quality of life has never been better!
  • Report
Mike San DiegoPosted on Apr 24, 2014
low crime rate (mostly)

Attractions9/10
Community9/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining10/10
Shopping8/10
except for our current Mayor, who should be locked up for assault among other crimes against women. but this is/remains truly 'America's finest city". small enough to navigate easily by bike or car, easy to walk and friendly neighborhoods. just don't visit City Hall with out a body guard. well enough about our pervert-in-charge. he won't be there much longer and other cities will become the butt (sic) of sick (sic) jokes. (and well deserved). come visit on vacation....stay forever. the weather's moderate--along the coast-never too hot or cold. and Camp Pendleton on the north end of the county protects us from LA/OC. we love it. the cultural aspects are wonderful, Balboa Park and the SD Zoo are world class.
  • Report
dillansparksPosted on Aug 03, 2013
great weather!

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
San Diego is a great place to live and raise a family. We moved down to San Diego from Orange County. San Diego has friendlier, warmer people. They have Seaworld, Legoland, great beaches, LaJolla is gorgeous, a must-see. The San Diego Zoo is by far the best Zoo in the Country. If you have dogs, check out the amazing dog beaches!! Raising a family here is outstanding, the schools are very good, the neighborhoods are friendly. Balboa Park is terrific, there is something to do for everyone, museums, playgrounds, etc. There is a beautiful water lily pond in the park that is amazing. I love San Diego!
  • Report
shetlandPosted on Dec 15, 2012
San Diego, Thank You!

Attractions9/10
Community7/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining5/10
Shopping8/10
My wife and I had such a great time in San Diego. Using tickets we purchased last year we had a nice 4 day stay in San Diego. We have lived in Topeka, Ks our entire life. We have taken a few journeys around the country but our recent trip was outstanding. We traveled to San Diego with few expectations. We knew we wanted to take in the beaches, as well as the Gaslamp Quarter. During our first day we figured we would be exhausted from our travel to San Diego. With only 4 days to enjoy our time we quickly began to explore the city. The sites were simply amazing. Going from Kansas to California we figured the hustle and bustle would not be very relaxing, however the trip was one of the most relaxing trips we have on record. After we got our bearings on day one, day 2 and 3 were spent doing a little shopping. If you like quaint little shops you will love San Diego. We would often go off the beaten path just to find these small little places. On our last day we decided to go to the Gaslamp Quarter. We had hoped to save the best for last and that is exactly what we did. The architecture from the Victorian era was stunning. Located around 4th and 5th avenue the Gaslamp Quarter covers around 16 blocks of outstanding sights and sounds I suggest you take in on your next visit. Overall our trip was much more enjoyable than we had expected. We had a stereotype of the area going into the vacation, and we were surprised to find out exactly what San Diego had to offer. The one bad thing about the trip, coming home.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 23, 2011
Great Gay and Lesbian Culture

Attractions7/10
Community8/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I have lived in San Diego for over 10 years and I love it. It is a very diverse culture. If, you are thinking of moving to San Diego, just make damn sure that you leave your narrow minded views where you came from. There is too much beauty within this city to separate yourself from the rest of the city, just because you were raised in a barn! I have seen people come and people go. I will say this much.. If you don't have a good job, you had better be a trust fund baby. It is still quite expensive to live here.
  • Report
doncaidPosted on Oct 25, 2011
Great City For A Weekend Getaway!

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining9/10
Shopping8/10
I traveled to San Diego, CA in the summer of 2005 to visit a friend attending San Diego State University. The one thing you can say with authority about San Diego is that you will never get bored in this city. If you have an active lifestyle, there are dozens of ways to keep busy. This includes everything from surfing to ice hockey. The city of San Diego is incredibly clean city and the people seemed friendly as well. I asked for directions on numerous occasions and received help from locals every time. During my 3 night stay, I booked at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel (1 Park Blvd). The hotel is located right on the water and offers clean, modern amenities. I was able to get it for just over $100/night. The nightlife, bars and restaurants in San Diego are world class. Downtown, or Gaslamp Quarter as they call it, features many high end hot spots with the usual long lineups and steep drink prices. If you're looking for something a little less fancy, there is also a strip of bars located closer to the water and on the beach which are frequented by a younger crowd sporting flip flops and t-shirts. Overall, San Diego is a great place to visit and probably live as well. I look forward to returning.
  • Report
AV JonPosted on Dec 29, 2010
Moving To San Diego: The Best Choice For Me!

Attractions9/10
Community8/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I moved to San Diego from Los Angeles to go to college at UCSD in 1994. I never thought I'd live anywhere other than L.A., but once I moved to San Diego, I vowed I would spend the rest of my life there. I truly fell in love with this city. The air is cleaner, the people are friendlier and, for some reason, there is a more relaxed vibe. There are so many attractions and things to do and see in San Diego, and because it is in Southern California, the weather is almost always nice enough to do them outdoors. There are beaches galore in San Diego, so you are almost always guaranteed a beautiful ocean view when doing things. There is, of course, the famous San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park and Sea World that most never get tired of visiting. For the mostly college crowd, downtown's Gas Lamp provides many clubs are bars, while also home to many fine restaurants. There are also many beautiful golf courses around San Diego. Don't forget a visit to Coronado Island, which is home to the famous Hotel Del Coronado, where "Some Like It Hot" was filmed. I certainly cannot say enough about San Diego. But I have never regretted moving here.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 29, 2010
Reason for reporting