Write a review about Nashville Tell people what you like or don't like about Nashville…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Mom and college student visit Nashville

Attractions9/10
Community8/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
I went to Murfreesboro to visit my daughter who was turning 20 on Mothers Day. She is going to MTSU to become a Vet. She moved to Tennessee from California because the vet programs aren't as impacted there. She got her reseidency and is exited to start next month! We loved visiting Nashville! We are both singer songwriters so it's right up our Alley! We had fun dancing at the Honkey Tonk to cover bands and caught an Indie duo at Margaritaville! I made reservations for the Bluebird before I left California and we got to listen to some legendary songwriters performing their original songs!! My daughter did not have trouble getting into places to hear live music so that was a huge plus. Parking downtown is expensive. Nashville is still not as expensive as where I live and Murfreesboro is an up and coming town just outside Nashville with a cute downtown and chill Vibe of it's own- everyone there was super friendly. The pace in Tenn is a lot slower than Cali and people don't stress over things - the weather was Perfect in mid May! I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back In September!! I will post again!
  • Report
WendibethPosted on Jul 11, 2017
No. No. No.

Attractions3/10
Community5/10
Nightlife2/10
Dining3/10
Shopping3/10
I absolutely hate it here.It's impossible to get an apartment if you've had a felony. The city is so focused on being "clean" and "white". So buy a house, but pay out of the ass for something that's 15+ minutes away in any one of the corners of town. Traffic is good here, but for the size of town and the amount of people it kinda makes no sense why there is a standstill around 6pm on the 40. There is absolutely no culture here. Some black, white, Kurdish and some mexican... very few argentinian and absolutely no Cubans, armenians, Greek, polish...etc. Good luck finding a good bagel or Italian (or even Chicago style, where I'm from) pizza. Or tacos. But, barbeque can be found all day. Among churches. Lots of them. And a "good old boy" vibe that runs rich within the soil, ever present with it's twang and pretentious attitude dare you ever say you hate the south. It rains too much and the summer is too humid. There is no ocean. Very few night clubs that I've found have my vibe, however there are something like 17 colleges here. I feel like deep down everybody hates it here. We all know this isn't a real city, like were trying to play it off and pretend were living in our dream state, with our la hats and Chuck Taylors. Or maybe we try to make it the best we can. We buy the "nash" or the "bna" hat. And so we look at everyone like "I fucking hate it here so much. And I hate you so much because you live here. Why would you want to move here? You're a fucking idiot. And if you're a native, I hate you for being born here."And as a bodybuilder...the fitness community here is fucking shit. It's all crossfit and...lets just say this is hardly a fit town. Not every "green" or environmentally friendly, either.However.. There are some woke ass people here that I've hung on to for my sanity ever since I dragged myself out here. I suppose they make it worth it.They hate it here too.
  • Report
Djak24kPosted on May 05, 2017
Why I'm Planning to Move to Nashville

Attractions9/10
Community7/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining8/10
Shopping10/10
For me, coming to Nashville, TN to live is bittersweet, because I am having to sell my family's old home place to make the move. The reasons that we chose Nashville are many, but started with my friend saying, "Why don't you move to Nashville?" Then I began to consider the upside: 1. My company, HCA/Parallon has 12 hospitals to choose from in the area and currently I drive 100 miles to work. 2. There are several Eastern Orthodox Churches in the area and where I currently live the closest church is 100 miles away, so we attend a mission 40 miles away. 3. I love the fact that Nashville is surrounded by smaller communities- each with their own personality. 4. There are so many opportunities for rafting and hiking which is something that my family and I love to do. 5. There are many and varied places to eat, so there is never a dull moment. 6. Music and especially Christian and Country Music is based in Nashville and I love to sing! 7. Due to the high and congested traffic in Atlanta, my family would never consider moving there. 8. There are actually 4 seasons, so snow is sometimes a possibility. 9. Last but not least we have close friends that my husband and I would love to be closer to.We hope to moving the summer of 2017 North of Nashville.Hope you will consider making Nashville your home too!
  • Report
pyegirlPosted on Jan 21, 2017
9 Years In Nashville, TN

Attractions9/10
Community4/10
Nightlife3/10
Dining7/10
Shopping10/10
I lived in Nashville for 9 years during my time in college and a few years afterward working at a publishing company. Half of my time there was in a small college located just off West End Avenue on the west of the city. From there it is a fairly short drive to downtown by Charlotte Road. This route will take you by the capitol building which you will definitely want to visit. It is smallish as capitol buildings go, but it is beautiful, elegant, and very historic. While in downtown you will definitely want to visit 100 Broadway. Tourists and Nashvillites alike love this area and for good reason. It is chock full of interesting shops and famous restaurant like The Hard Rock Cafe and The Wildhorse Saloon. However, in my eyes this area paled in comparison to the Opryland area. Opryland itself is sadly now gone, but the area still has many amazing must-see area, my favorites which the huge and gorgeous Opryland Hotel and the always entertaining Grand Old Golf. After my five years of college, I lived in the south end of Nashville in the Antioch area. During this time I became much more acquainted with everyday life in Nashville. Three things you should know about Nashville: The traffic is horrible, the summers are always humid and hot, and the winters are always wet and cold. Anyway, it was during these years that Opryland closed and was demolished to make way for a mall. I was skeptical. However, the mall has proven world class. I'm no shopper or big mall fan, but Nashville can definitely be proud of it. Plus, in my opinion it has the best movie theater in town. I presently live about an hour north of Nashville. Whenever I want to watch a movie I will almost always drive to Nashville to the Regal at Opry
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 17, 2014
not a fun place

Attractions3/10
Community3/10
Nightlife3/10
Dining3/10
Shopping3/10
I think Nashville sucks when you go downtown there is nothing to do but shop and drink that's it there is nothing for kids here this really is the worst city to visit sure we are music city but why come to this place everything cost so much here and on every corner someone is always asking for money like anyone here has any we all work long days for nothing but bills and our NES provide for you one that don't know is our electric company charges out the but for power so if you plan on moving here don't because it isn't worth it you will be broke in 6 months unless you job pays you 80000 a year just stay away from here go to Memphis, Knoxville, Chattanooga anywhere other then Nashville it is the worst place ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Report
stephdelacruz0830Posted on May 15, 2013
Nashville, TN - A Little Bit of Heaven

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
Nashville, Tennessee, is a little bit of heaven on earth. I lived in Nashville for five years and we could see the Grande Ole Opry out our back door. Living in or just visiting Nashville is unbelievable with all the attractions that this beautiful city has to offer. Depending on what you would like to see you should take your time and try to ingest the beauty, as we did on our first visit. We will mention some of the Nashville attractions that we visited on our first trip. After moving there we went back several times. The attractions never seem to grow old. We enjoyed the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. The specialty tours will take you back into country music history with some of your very favorite country singers. We suggest that you try to experience all that you can and take your time with this attraction. Another trip that we thoroughly enjoyed and still enjoy is the General Jackson Showboat Lunch and Dinner Cruise. This paddlewheel river boat is four stories high. The cruise will take you along the Cumberland River, past many historic points of interest. You never tire of the beauty surrounding the Nashville area. Tickets for cruise packages may seem a little high, depending on how many are in your group. We had my wife and I and our 2 year old and six year old. We paid about $150.00. The baby was free. The six year old still talks about the "big boat ride". If you happen to be in Nashville in the winter then you will be there to see the Radio City Rocketts perform their holiday precision dance show. This holiday show was enjoyed by the three of us and it held the interest of our two year old.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 24, 2011
Great City, but not perfect

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
Everyone around the city is nice (typical good ole boys). The thing is, it's Music City. Everywhere you go, there is live music. You can't get away from it. About 75% of the younger population are hipsters and trying to make it big with their band. The night life is great, lots of tourists downtown. You will see a lot of famous people just walking around town. The city itself is spread out and doesn't have the hustle and bustle of a Chicago or New York. Many people do drive to work, but their is public transportation up to 15-20 minutes outside of downtown. If you are looking for a growing city and like live music (especially country) then this city is perfect for you.
  • Report
NashvilleAgentPosted on Oct 09, 2011
Nashville - "The City of Country Music"

Attractions9/10
Community10/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining10/10
Shopping8/10
I visited the city of Nashville in March 2009 and it was an amazing trip. The people are friendly, the restaurants are great, and the culture is very entertaining in any party of the city. As an avid country music lover, I would love to move there because you are surrounded with the country music scene. Everywhere you look there are aspiring country music singers trying to get famous. I stayed at the Opryland Hotel and it was extravagant with the greatest steakhouse you will ever eat at called the "Charlie Daniels Steak House." You can't visit Nashville without seeing a show at the Grand Ole Opry. I watched a performance, and loved every minute of it. Downtown Nashville is full of restaurants, shops, bars and attractions. If you don't like country music it wouldn't be wise to spend the day downtown, because you will hear singers singing on any corner. The only thing that I didn't like was the Nashville weather. It was more humid than I am used to living in. Overall, I would love to visit the city of Nashville again!
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 30, 2010
Reason for reporting