Write a review about Portland Tell people what you like or don't like about Portland…
Review Portland
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Lange & Associates

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
The entire process has been a nightmare with Lange & Associates. First of all there was a tremendous lack of response to phone calls. Then upon completion of my appraisal they completely left a bedroom out. Our heat sources were also stated incorrect we have baseboard heating as well as one wood stove and one pellet stove not mentioned. It was stated we have a gravel driveway, Incorrect we have 200' of asphalt not gravel. Also it was stated it is a 2 story home and our home is a 1 level ranch. Worst of all the comps given were not even in my zip code. To say the least I am very dissatisfied and am in the process of disputing this matter. I just wanted to let you all know so this does not happen to you.
  • Report
Steve LPosted on Apr 18, 2017
Americas Natural and Alternative Medicine Destination

Attractions12/10
Community12/10
Nightlife12/10
Dining12/10
Shopping12/10
In Portland, you are surrounded by Practices from traditional Chinese medicine to Integrative Physicians. The buffet of choice is very large, and after have many of my own experiences, I have to say two physicians to see are Dr. Samantha Du Moulin and Dr. Karen Cureton. The depth of knowledge and proper applications, along with a attentive, supportive, and nurturing supportive staff, namely Jackie, you will find the best overall care in Portland.
  • Report
BioVanguardPosted on Mar 22, 2017
Portland

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping10/10
portland looks like a city, but it's not. most of the downtown is shuttered. people living on the streets offer the area some diversity, vibrance. overpriced. lovely skies. xenophobic, rude, prejudice, racist, boring, boring, boring. museum and other cultural events way overpriced.portland northwests have little class when it comes to social graces it's not a city. and they don't have rent control and seem to think that's just fine. did i already say no social graces. no small talk. boring white boring xenophobic boring hostile boring rude. misogynistic hellhole. and they don't like "outsiders". transit sucks. environmentalists but everyone sucks up the oil with their driving. do people ever shower or do their wash? most look like they rolled out of a cave. must be systemic depression from the 364 days of gray sky and rain. thank the stars construction is happening and people are in tents on the streets--that's the only thing going on. besides hours of watching cars on the highways. portlanders don't like outsiders. i wonder why.
  • Report
nicePosted on Mar 06, 2017
WORST PLACE EVER

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
Why is rent for ANYONE so ridiculous??? When you want to go to downtown Portland to just walk around why does it cost a SMALL FORTUNE for a person to park one's car??? Traffic is a complete nightmare. I suppose all native Oregonians would be happy if no one from any other state would move here but reality is that they will. I WOULD NEVER ENCOURAGE ANYONE THAT I LIKED TO MOVE HERE. People are rude and obnoxious. Very unfriendly state.
  • Report
KmckenziePosted on Feb 05, 2017
The amazing place of downtown Portland

Attractions9/10
Community9/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
Downtown here has a great attraction for visitors much like myself. I love to see the tiny "Portland cars," and the tall buildings filled with offices. It's easy to find work, just as it's easy to find shopping. There is a store for everyone: the teens have the mall, the girls have the American girl shop, and the house wives, the huge furniture stores. There is food for everyone, too. Whether you like Thai, pizza or fancy cakes, you've got it all here, in downtown Portland.
  • Report
PrimodiedofcolicPosted on Oct 26, 2016
New Explore Portland Bike share

Attractions/10
Community/10
Nightlife/10
Dining/10
Shopping/10
Listen, orange is NOT the new black. Hear me when I say, People do not want to ride ORANGE bikes around the city. TRUST ME. Did you study this Color phenomenon??? It WILL have an impact on the success of this project. I mean for God's sake. Have some class Portland. Green and white. Blue and white. Or minimize the orange to a white and orange combo at the very least.... For the love of God, before it's too late. This is not a joke. I've seen it before. Color matters, and if people think they are riding around something less personalized than they are, there is a cut off. Many simply will not identify and will NOT ride those bikes. The opposite of what you are trying to do ?No┬┐. My guess is we are talking 5 out of ten potential riders will not ride based on color and feel of the bike alone. Don't even get me started on access on 10th and 11th street. That grid lock will just have to play itself out.
  • Report
BigtimegoodlookPosted on Jul 15, 2016
What It's Like to Live in Portland, Oregon

Attractions9/10
Community10/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
I lived in Portland, Oregon and nearby cities in the metropolitan area for several years and it was one of the best places I've ever lived. First off, the transportation in Oregon is the best I've seen anywhere. We didn't own a car for a year and had zero problems getting anywhere. Between 24/7 bus routes (with bus stops everywhere and lines that go out of state), taxi services, light rails, streetcars, ferries, bike lanes, carpool lanes, and wide, well-maintained sidewalks even in the non-urban areas (and an airport and train station) you'll never find yourself wanting for a way to get around. The community is friendly and celebratory. Not only are mainstream holidays like Christmas and Halloween eagerly decorated for but they have Portland-unique events like the Rose Festival. My favorite hangout was Ancient Wonders, a little game and comic store where I spent most of my free time as a child. The music scene's excellent. When I lived in Portland and there was no shortage of venues or performers from big band & swing, jazz, blues, folk, reggae, to classic rock and country. The scenery and climate are superb. It doesn't get too cold in the winter nor too hot in the summer. Consistent mild rains provide lush lawns and forests year-round. Did I mention how many trees there are? Deciduous and evergreen forests are everywhere, even interspersed with the urban and suburban zones themselves. The forest at Cook Park was my favorite walking spot with a path along the river. The city is green in a literal and metaphorical sense and incredibly clean. There's hardly any litter and the air and water are pure and clear.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Dec 19, 2014
Portland, OR City Review

Attractions10/10
Community6/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
I have lived 15 minutes from Portland, Oregon since 1993. There's a lot to do in the city during the day and evening. The city serves as a tourist site for any personality, so getting bored would be difficult. There are children's activities such as museums, playgrounds, and play centers. There are also plenty of trails for hiking, biking, and popular swimming holes. At night the street comes alive and out comes the night owls who want to navigate the many night clubs and dance strips. One of the interesting things about Portland, Oregon is that it is one of the most diverse cities in the United States. The city has a rather large belly dance community and many of the belly dance superstars in the United States come from Portland! The city does have a bad side though, and you do have to be careful where you go or you could end up in a bad part of town. There are many streets in Portland that are considered druggy streets and prostitution landing grounds. So a person visiting should definitely do their research before venturing out. Safe places to visit in Portland, Oregon include all of Portland Metro area, Healy Heights, Lair Hill, Ardenwald, and Northwest Heights. These places have the lowest crime in the city and are generally middle and upper class neighborhoods with nice shopping centers and lots of leisure activities. Stay away from Gateway Transit center in Hazelwood; it's had a recent surge or rapes and murders in recent years, and it's considered a dangerous part of town, especially for a tourist. West Burnside Street in downtown Portland is another place to avoid because it's a high gang area with lots of crime and petty left.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 24, 2011
Portland, OR: Cool, Green and Friendly

Attractions8/10
Community10/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining10/10
Shopping9/10
Portland has been my home city since 1997, and I can't imagine getting tired of it. Portland is definitely cool; we are reputed to have the highest number of witches and lesbians per capita of any city in North America. As for green, there are trees and gardens everywhere; we have been voted the most bike-friendly city in the United States; and we have one of the largest urban parks in North America. Forest Park covers more than 5,100 acres on the west side of Portland, with over 70 miles of hiking and biking trails. REI was founded in Seattle, but the Portland stores are always packed. Hiking boots, kayaks, mountain bikes, and Gore-Tex are our best friends. Portlanders are friendly. Imagine the way northern California was back in the 60's before too many people moved there - that is Portland. There are at least two bars and three coffee shops per non-residential block, there is live music everywhere, and Portland has the biggest and best independent bookstore in North America in Powells Books. House prices are reasonable and there is a great public transit system. Gripes? Not enough parking spots downtown, but maybe that is a sneaky way to get us to drive less. And, oh yes, it rains. But you get used to it.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jun 24, 2011
Relish the Eccentricity of Portland, OR

Attractions9/10
Community10/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining9/10
Shopping7/10
In the summer of 2009, I was able to spend a week in the wonderfully diverse city that is Portland, Oregon. It's no wonder "Money" magazine named Portland North America's "Best Big City." The natural beauty and bustling streets make this city a comfortable, serene destination. In Portland, I stayed in the gorgeous Hotel Vintage Plaza, which offers all the modern conveniences anyone could ask for, and is ensconced by a relaxing and tranquil atmosphere. Staying in this hotel is a bit pricey, but as it is a luxury hotel, I felt it was well worth the cost. For a fun experience, stop in at Voodoo Doughnut for a list of gourmet doughnuts with unexpected flavor combinations. This wacky Portland restaurant expresses the spirit of the city perfectly. The eccentric and friendly vibe found here is prevalent throughout the city. Portland is a very liberal city, which some might find undesirable. And locals relish the Portland weather, but frequent rain can be unwelcome to visitors. However, these characteristics add to Portland's uniqueness. Overall, Portland is an interesting place to visit.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 30, 2010
Reason for reporting