Write a review about Kansas City Tell people what you like or don't like about Kansas City…
Review Kansas City
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Mixed Feelings About KC

Attractions5/10
Community6/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining7/10
Shopping4/10
Kansas City has some attributes in terms of architecture and food, but like many older established cities, it is a rather closed city in terms of the social scene. If you are not from here, it can be a challenge to fit in and find your social circle. There is a lot of old money here which adds to the cultural and philanthropic scene. Winters are cold (but relatively short). Summers can be unbearably humid from June-Sept. St Patrick's Day is a big event given the predominance of Irish-Americans here. Unless you like the woods or man-made lakes, their are not any natural attractions that you can day trip to.
  • Report
murmanPosted on Jan 29, 2018
BBQ and Things to Do

Attractions9/10
Community9/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
We lived in Kansas City, MO for 5 years and moved out in 2014. We still miss many of the things there, others we don't. I was surprised by the negative reviews here until I read reviews on other cities in which I've lived, and then I realized people usually only review if they have a bone to pick with a place. That's why I'm writing this. I saw some things about "uneducated" and "closed minded" or "prejudice". I see that about a lot of cities and often it's by people from CA. I suppose if you go around town naked and consider it prejudice or closed minded when people do a double take, then KCMO is prejudice and this isn't the place for you. Otherwise people don't seem to care much what your lifestyle, race or whatever is. Most people have more important things to think about than that. My coworker who is homosexual didn't have any beef with the place. We've lived on in Ohio, Florida, Washington, Arizona and over seas, and I didn't find it closed minded or uneducated in KCMO. I think that is often from people who are very proud of their BA degree in underwater basket weaving and simply cannot tolerate people who don't have that degree. I am an MD, and some of the smartest people I've ever known didn't go to college at all.On that note I will say that Truman Hospital is scary. I worked there as a doctor for 5 years, and told my colleagues I wanted a tattoo telling the EMS to take me anywhere but Truman if I'm sick. There is good medical care available in the area, but it's not found at Truman. Maybe it was the contrast with Phoenix, from which we had just moved, but people in KCMO seem very friendly and kind. Our neighbors came and helped us move a piano up some stairs the day we moved in. That was the first time we met them. We love the BBQ in KCMO. We've never found its equal anywhere else. We learned to smoke pork while there, and we still do it.KCMO was a great place for our young family. There is a lot to do for families around the metro area. We haven't yet lived in a place with that much to do for families. The train station is amazing around Christmas time, as is Hallmark. The Deanna Rose farm is really fun in the summer. There are seemingly weekly festivals throughout the summer that are great for all ages.Like many cities, the crime and such is regional. I would never dare live in the downtown area. I would never send my kids to Kansas City Schools. We lived in the North, and the Parkhill School District is award winning. We were very happy with our school. The freeway and road system, at least from the North, is GREAT. I had three main ways to commute to work and never had to worry much about traffic. I've not had that in any other place I've lived. The thunderstorms are really impressive and will knock you out of bed at times. I do miss that. However, I don't miss the threat of tornadoes. We only had one even come close to the city while we were there.The weather in general is something I didn't like about KCMO. The summers are very hot and humid. The winters are a bitter wet cold leaving something to be desired in snow removal. The spring seems to come and go without anyone realizing it happened. However, the fall is excellent and fairly long. Overall, I'd live in KCMO again in a heartbeat if not for the weather and if they had a mountain or two near by.
  • Report
camjohn00Posted on May 18, 2017
Poor Customer Service

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
My spouse and I visited the Denton facility as a contender. My spouse is a firefighter and Quinton told us ALL fees would be waived. He was pushy and pressured us to fill out an application FREE OF CHARGE. He assured us there would be NO loss in applying. The only stipulation was that we would have 48 hours to sign the lease. We chose to go with a different facility. We received a statement from Christian for $500.00 and a threat to send it to collections if not paid although the fee was never agreed on. I called the manager, Jim, to express my concern and to have the statement removed as it was not discussed in our meeting. He became very hostile and rude then proceeded to hang up on me when I asked for his supervisor's contact information. I called back to get the name and contact of corporate and he still refused to provide me with the information needed to resolve the issue. We were scammed as future residents so I can only imagine the "fees" and treatment actual residents have to endure throughout their contractual term. The employees lack in customer service skills and experience. My goal is to fairly warn other before being scammed, lied to, and mistreated by the Denton staff.
  • Report
CMIPosted on Mar 31, 2017
Trashy Kansas City

Attractions6/10
Community1/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
The highways is got to be the trashiest place I have ever seen. I unfortunately live here and it seems that the City just dont send people out to get it cleaned up. But the worst part of it is the people that keep littering. I would not move here and when I retire I cant wait to leave this disgusting Kansas City.
  • Report
SiksforePosted on Feb 21, 2017
ONE OF THE WORST CITIES

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
I'VE BEEN TO 44 STATES AND LIVED IN 5 STATES AND TIJUANA, MX. AND KCMO IS ONE OF THE ABSOLUTE WORST PLACES TO LIVE. THE ONLY THING KCMO HAS GOING FOR IT IS THE COST OF LIVING, BUT IT WILL NOT SPARE YOU FROM ANYTHING ELSE. THE GRADES THIS CITY GETS ARE ALL WELL DESERVED. IT'S NOT A VERY NICE PLACE TO LIVE FOR ANYONE HERE AND THE WEATHER WHEN IT'S NOT WINTER IS WARM TO HOT, VERY MUGGY AND HUMID AND RAINS WITH FLOODING QUITE A LOT HERE. THE PEOPLE ARE VERY QUICK TO JUDGE OTHERS AND ARE EXTREMELY INTOLERANT. THIS PLACE MADE ME THINK ABOUT ACTUALLY MOVING BACK TO TIJUANA, MX.
  • Report
HEARTLIGHTSPIRITPosted on Oct 03, 2016
Kansas City Crime is worse than Los Angeles

Attractions9/10
Community7/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
I've lived in the Northland Kansas City area since 1961, with the exception of 11 years away living in San Joaquin Valley California. I also lived in a 10-story Brownstone apartment building in Downtown KC near Case Park. As well as apartments up north near Zona Rosa Shopping district. I also lived in houses in Gladstone, Liberty and North Coves area (all part of the KC Metropolitan areas). No matter which location I lived, I experienced some crime (vehicle broken into and stereo stolen, theft of items from patio, mentally ill men in the park across from my apartments, had a neighbor break down my apartment door splitting the door frame claiming he was drunk and fell into the door, apartment broken into with all jewelry and electronics stolen and they stayed long enough to eat food from my fridge and use my husbands electric razor to shave, my sister lived in an apartment and found her cat hung by the neck one morning). If you use this site to compare crime in Kansas City, MO to crime in Los Angeles, CA population over 3 million you will find that Kansas City has higher crime than LA. It's my home town, there are a lot of fun things to do (attractions, dining, concerts, sporting events, Worlds of Fun, live theater, museums). I love Kansas City because I was born and raised here. However that being said; I plan on retiring within the next 5 years and I do have plans on moving out of city and maybe even out of state someplace with a lower crime rate. That's why I am here on areavibes.com to look for a safer area to live.
  • Report
Denise KerrPosted on May 24, 2016
The sweet sounds and flavors of Kansas Cty, MO

Attractions7/10
Community10/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining7/10
Shopping6/10
I have lived in Kansas City, M.O. for 25 years and I love the camaraderie of my adopted hometown. I lived elsewhere in Ohio, but relocated to Kansas City for better employment prospects. I will soon be retiring from a great company but will remain in K.C. for the incredible atmosphere, great food and the amazing views of the Missouri River. Local schools are good with high graduation rates. The real estate is reasonably priced for an urban area. You can find a rental for less than $700.00 a month and even nice houses are around $140,000. If you want to mix an arts mecca with a food fair you know where to come. My town has an interesting history in native culture, colonial exploration and American history. All over town, you see markers and historical plaques with anecdotes and trivia telling about important local events. We have a style of barbeque that can't be beat. If you walk through the city, you will be enchanted by all the beautiful fountains as you hear sweet jazz from the live music clubs that are on every corner of downtown. The malls are nothing special but they are clean. Kansas City's major drawbacks are the weather and the crime. Missouri is on the edge of " Tornado Alley", but we have pretty good procedures for when the storms come along. Winters have unpredictable snow. Summer has unpredictable floods. The city itself has a fairly high crime rate per capita but it is not violent crime, and is still lower than many other major cities.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Dec 19, 2014
Great city to raise a family

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
Kansas City is a great town to raise a family, good schools (in most areas), safe, lots of family attractions, and nice people. I was born and raised here, and live here a significant amount of my adult life. I've lived in the Northland area (highly recommended) and also in Overland Park (southern suburb). Both are great areas with lots to do and see. In the Northland I recommend the Parkville area - beautiful parks, nice downtown area, and easy to reach other parts of the city (downtown, airport, etc.) The Overland Park area contains a lot of shops and restaurants, with a lot of businesses (Sprint, Garmin, etc.)
  • Report
joshlovePosted on Jun 30, 2014
Kansas City, MO: An overlooked tourist attraction?

Attractions7/10
Community10/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining8/10
Shopping7/10
I have lived in Kansas City for my entire life and I don't think I could ask for a better city to live in. This city is the reason that I became such a rabid sports fan, even if the teams don't merit such praise, living in Kansas City means it is almost a requirement to be a fan of sports. When I talk to people about Kansas City, a common response is that there isn't any attractions that really stand out. Sure, Kansas City is the city of fountains, but most cities have a defining tourist attraction that shows the world what it is. Does that make Kansas City a less desirable tourist attraction? I don't think so at all. Since I live in Kansas City, I might be a little bias, but I think what makes Kansas City so special is that it has a lot of attractive areas to visit that go under the radar, as well as the kindness of the population as a whole. Sports are the life of Kansas City, and if you're a sports fan of the Royals, Chiefs, or one of the college teams, you are treated like family by fellow fans. Nothing beats going to Arrowhead Stadium to root on the Chiefs with 80,000 other fans just like yourself. Other popular attractions include Worlds of Fun, the Harry S. Truman Exhibit, and the Negro League Museum. There are plenty of other attractions, but these are the ones that will stay with you for a lifetime. One of the most popular tourist spots in the world exists in the suburbs of Kansas City, and only during the holiday season. Every year on Thanksgiving Night, the Plaza Lighting ceremony will take place with thousands of people waiting for the whole city to light up in celebration of the Christmas season. When I had the pleasure of going, it was one of the most magical experiences I had ever encountered, and couldn't trade it for anything. With the attractions, sporting events, and the people of Kansas City, I couldn't imagine a better place to live.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 24, 2011
Kansas City - Barbecue, Baseball, and Beyond

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
Kansas City is barbecue and baseball. But it offers so much more. I've lived in KC for 11 years and have come to know the city and the surrounding area pretty well. Sports are a big part of the city. You can watch the Kansas City Chiefs (football), the Kansas City Royals (baseball), the Kansas City Wizards (soccer), Kansas City T-Bones (minor league baseball), and the Kansas City Brigade (arena football). The area offers lots of recreational sporting opportunities. Youth soccer, outdoor and indoor, is a huge deal. Two indoor ice rinks offer hockey leagues and ice skating programs. One shopping area near downtown, the Crown Center, has an outdoor ice rink open during the winter. In addition to the organized sports, recreational sports lovers will find many parks and lakes to enjoy. Although the sports garner lots of attention, Kansas City offers many great attractions. A new performing arts center is under construction near the downtown. It will house the symphony, opera, and ballet, all of which are thriving in the city. Many Broadway shows make stops in Kansas City. And the Sprint Center, an arena in downtown, attracts major pop, rock, and country stars. Taylor Swift, ACDC, Pearl Jam, Cirque de Soleil all have made stops or will soon perform at the Sprint Center. One of my favorite Kansas City offerings is the Kansas City Repertory Theater. Last Christmas, it stage the first musical adaptation of "A Christmas Story" that was thoroughly unique and entertaining. My whole family, even my kids, really enjoyed it. The KC Rep stages many productions that are innovative and somewhat risky. I like that about the company. I have to say one of the real treasures of Kansas City is the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. The museum is world famous for its Chinese art collection. I know very little about Chinese art, and that collection is now why I go to the Nelson. The museum and its new Bloch building offer many types of art from ancient to modern. The museum has an amazing sculpture garden, which is a delightful way to spend the evening. It hosts several traveling exhibits throughout the year. Last year, I took my kids to see the George Segal exhibit. He was a sculptor who focused on street scenes. The museum offered workshops in which my kids could see how he created his sculptures. The Nelson also offers great school tours free of charge and many art programs for kids. The museum is free. But you do usually have to pay for special exhibits. You can find plenty to do in Kansas City. I've only mentioned a few.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 30, 2010
Reason for reporting