Write a review about Raleigh Tell people what you like or don't like about Raleigh…
Review Raleigh
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Nice smaller city experiencing some growing pains

Attractions5/10
Community5/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I found Raleigh and vicinity to be attractive and full of potential. Of course there are negatives to any place and the people shouting negativity in the reviews below are the typical parasitic, welfare-abusing trash that have come to plague the area whining, moaning, complaining, and blaming about how they're not being given enough hand outs. There are very nice neighborhoods and apartments (usually overpriced) which offer any type of lifestyle you could want. I honestly feel bad for this city and natives because the low quality people coming primarily from Richmond and Atlanta have exploited the benefits and are slowly destroying the infrastructure taking advantage yet again of another decent city. The area has great higher education, known as the research Triangle with upscale hospitals, malls, libraries, parks, and museums. Outside of Raleigh you'll find natural outdoor activities like hiking, rock climbing, and biking. The local food is good, but like one person posted, it's not healthy food at all. There is access to some good health food stores though like Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, Fresh Market and farmers markets which helps a lot. I don't blame NC natives for being resistant to outsiders and transient low lives. Raleigh has some great things going for it and to see low class people disrespecting it is appalling, unneeded, and unwanted. The city is constantly building and expanding, but there aren't enough jobs or moderately compensating ones to keep up with it. I will be honest in mentioning that job interviews here are biased, cliquey, and show blatant signs of nepotism; and this is coming from someone who holds two degrees as a white collar professional. As a whole, Raleigh-Durham is generic but offers good weather, great location, and hidden gems of community (you just have to look a bit harder to find them).
  • Report
whatisrealPosted on Feb 11, 2018
Raleigh: A boring town unless...

Attractions3/10
Community2/10
Nightlife2/10
Dining3/10
Shopping5/10
... Unless you love looking at trees squirrels birds and go orgasmic contemplating your weed free lawn, there is little need to stay too long in this overrated southern town.Raleigh could remind you of the movie "The Truman Show" if you've seen it. On the surface, all seems strangely pretty and clean but this place crumbles as it tries to expand, since greed is the vector force that drives the town.Most eateries restaurants pubs etc. serve food that will make you look like a fat sloppy hamburger in no time. Nightlife stops at 2 am in your bed or continues at the Waffle House.There's an interesting museum of modern art NC Moma but that alone cannot be good enough to relocate here.On a daily basis this is what you will find:Cops harass drivers 24/7, regional health care is turning into a Blue Cross UNC Duke monopoly, extremely expensive and - unlike what they say - not better than anywhere else. The downtown area has nothing to write home about as you can see most things in half a day.There are bike lanes here and there but car drivers make cycling dangerous as they always seem in a rush. Nondescript malls and little shopping centers abound, a dysfunctional puny little bus systems will get you nowhere but Highway 40 will take you out of this mess quickly ... so drive on before you go insane or depressed in this gritty hole.
  • Report
Jean PPosted on Mar 29, 2017
I love living in Durham-Raleigh

Attractions7/10
Community9/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining10/10
Shopping9/10
I moved to Raleigh for work about 3 years ago and thought that i wouldn't stay long, however i love it here. i recently found a home in Durham in a D.R. Horton Community and its been wonderful for my family and I, You can find everything you need close by. Shopping, Entertainment etc. i recommend living here.
  • Report
HerbertBPosted on Feb 16, 2017
Absolutely terrible snobby, slam lord city there is

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
First of all, if you need to move here DO NOT RENT or trust anyone on line to rent a place. You will get here, the most you'll get filthy peace of garbage and nothing else. If you don't have any other choice, right down every single thing you need to get and paying for. If you need place for a year and paying for a 6 months, name the months you are paying, other wise slam lord like Ken Horn will take your money and will say, that you paid for the lasts months of your lease. Take pictures of all damage and little scratches, because before you will have to move out, he Will charge you for that.Streets are dark at night, no lights, barely ever you will see light, so be careful driving at night. Drivers are terrible, they do not know how to drive. Once I have a car accident in a parking lot, where old "fa..." couldn't drive, because probably forgot how to go reverse, the other time, some idiot drove me in "my ass" at the stop light. Police are so stupid they do not know how to right the address, so you would pay a ticket or even get in jail....if you wont show up in court. Just saying, watch your money!Also, weekends, when you would like to sleep in and rest, no way you can do it, because of those who came where Jesus left his slippers. 3 or 4 times per day on the weekends they are coming, just in case you don't know about the Jesus, by that time of your age.DO NOT leave any deposit or money in advance, because that would be the last time you having them in your hands, you would never get a penny back.Health department. Doctors doesn't know shit, nurses thinks, they know everything. They will take every penny then can from your insurance and will give you nothing in advance. If you will get sick, run from this state as far as you can. If you still need to come here to live, welcome a board of redneck country and be miserable just like the rest of us.
  • Report
Matilda GPosted on Dec 19, 2016
Clean, boring, dull

Attractions1/10
Community6/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
Stayed at Marriott, room was ok. The hotel restaurant, RYE, was a step above to only McDonald's. The downtown area was clean, people were nice, however very quite, and boring for a city this size. City good for retirees wanting to live in big city. The pit was best barbecue, fried chicken I've ever had. Unfortunately may be only good eating establishment in town. Clean boring dull city. Won't come back again. Fortunately work paid for trip. I would be pissed off If I had to pay for all the bad meals and time spending trying to find any nightlife!
  • Report
ZacharyPosted on Nov 06, 2016
Carolina Performance -- Beware!!!!!

Attractions7/10
Community8/10
Nightlife2/10
Dining1/10
Shopping2/10
Carolina Performance is a scam. The fake doctor scam you need to be aware of- and Dr. William Matthews at Carolina Performance is part of this ALERT - physician scam. Check out for yourself, try to find his licence number-. I paid for an expensive intake, and he could not write a prescription, nor could he call it into CVS Pharmacy. Why? Because he wasn't a real doctor. I also needed him to fax a referral to another doctor in California, and after a week, he was still not able to fax my request. Why? Because he didn't want to reveal that he was bogus. Do not use ANY "doctor" at Carolina Performance.
  • Report
rmomPosted on Aug 25, 2016
Terribly Judgmental snobby people

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
This is Basically a comic book version of what a city is supposed to look like. I moved here From CT last October and wish I had moved to Florida instead. The pros are that it is really well kept in most areas with new buildings which has a fresh feel but is more like a big spread out town. THE WORST OF ALL is the community. I wish I could give it negative stars. I am the most social person and never had such a hard time making friends. I am not one of those "Yankees" everyone talks about. I happen to be from CT and I am a working man who did not come from money. Tee shirts and sneakers are unacceptable here. If you do not have a man bun, pink shorts which end right below your balls, a Toyota Prius, and a large frappachino in your left hand with a poodle on a leash on your right... You are unwelcome. Go back home where you belong. "Nightlife" down town consists of hundreds of entitled college kids "wearing man buns" and penny loafers. Lots of good looking women who are very fake and judgmental of each other with very dry personalities. It can be described as a congregation of all the people who tried out for jersey shore and 90210 but just didn't quite have what it took to be part of the cast. I will say the food is mostly great. Awesome local brews. if you enter one of these places with a clean tee shirt on and new sneakers expect the music to stop and drinks to hit the floor, as you should know better that the dress code is no less than man bun, loafers and tight pink pants. Every guy wears tight pink pants here. The only acceptable Tee shirt here is a tight v-neck in the lightest shade of baby blue. The "men" here are some of the most un-masculine that I have met in my life. This applies to my age group ( I am 26) However, the people I have met that are not millennials, college students and are over 40 are pleasant. Maybe my generation just sucks entirely and it is magnified here much more. I will say though, generally, the people my age from the northeast are much more welcoming, FUN and down to earth. These people are some of the driest emotionless people I have ever met in my life. Generally though, the community is full of wealthy, judgmental, snobby people who have a stick up their a** about 5 inches in diameter with thorns and hot sauce on the outside stuffed so deep that it has stabbed a hole in their soul. That is my review of Raleigh. Hope it helps.
  • Report
jaimestonePosted on Aug 14, 2016
classism is a serious problem here

Attractions5/10
Community5/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining7/10
Shopping3/10
very Pathetic and sad city if your from Ny, Miami, Cali, or any major city avoid most of the city like the plaque especially North Hills with the noveau riche people who made a club and exclude whoever they think is poor. I'm telling you avoid North Hills! real weathly people and homeless avoid it! and avoid downtown as well same type of discrimation. you have been warned! stay in Falls of Neuse or Further North or even some place remote. don't stay in North Hills!! you will probably get the cops called on your kids for being an old money type and being different! The only cash flow that comes in this city is from the North Hills noveau riche taxes and the federal governemnt, and maybe some group of anymous benefactors. by the way almost all the clothes in Raleigh are cheap or made of out cheap material! I have seen better clothes in my local GoodWill and Walmart in Miami. by the way they have idiots for cops here who try to psycho analyis everybody
  • Report
jerricdude20Posted on Jan 15, 2016
city is garbage

Attractions4/10
Community4/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining7/10
Shopping3/10
first off this is the most backward, weird, and shady city I have ever been in. The people are very judgemental and look down on the homless and poor, also very discriminatory they are always trying figure out wether your rich or poor based on what your wearing. Some have been treated differently by employees of restuarants based on what they are wearing I have seen it in person. i was judged and taken for rich and poor too many times here based on my clothes. Specifically North hills the people are out of control. I was watched by an employee of Jcpenney she either did it on her own or the manager put her up to it. I talked to the manager she didn't say she was going fix it, highly unprofessional, I called corporate on this Jcpenney and told them to investigate this store. These people in north hills are just now getting money and they don't know to handle it or act. I really feel they look down on the poor because they used to be poor on the verge of homelessness and they felt very bad, I stand corrected because I saw what look like a low income house in Six Forks which is supposedly the richest neighborhood in America??! that was obviously forged by Glassdoor.com for the sack of their inflated egos. I saw a bus driver look down on a homeless man. I seen an old man decide wether someone was poor or rich by their shoes. Also the 5th or 6th time I went to North Hills I usually charge my phone in the outdoor outlets but this time the power was cut off and they did it so I would stop coming there. Also I was watched by some security. I also spoke to other people in Raleigh who told me they have been followed in stores in North Hills frequently. It's a classism thing here and huge problem overall in the city. The poor and homeless are treated the worst. Btw I was followed by a cop after I got on my bus because some lady was reporting as suspicious for walking around the bus station waiting for bus. I already reported this city to the federal government and now I will file a claim with the civil rights department. btw I'm from Miami and I have grown up with people who are weathly and they don't act like the people in North Hills who are new to money. the poor and homeless have been robbed in the bus station countless times and the cops are using the reports to target the homeless and poor because the Residents of Raleigh dislike them because they poor or homeless. This will eventually lead to racism if we don't go into another recession. if this doesn't improve the homeless will be in danger. also the only real people who have money are the one in falls of Neuse. the rest of the city has people who used to be poor but just got money, the upper poor class and lower poor class and then homeless who used to be middle class or upper middleclass but relocated to raliegh for jobs. the homeless and poor safety may be at risk eventually as they might get physically assaulted by cops or people who don't like them for them being poor. you can also tell the the falls of neuse people are the real wealthy people because the houses are the best in this city and they have brands that aren't sold in this city. Also almost every single building in the city is dirty on the outside except for falls of neuse where it is semi clean or clean. all the malls have stores nobody cares about except for maybe 5
  • Report
jerricdude20Posted on Jan 15, 2016
Raleigh has been home for 23 years & is the best place I've ever lived

Attractions8/10
Community10/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining8/10
Shopping10/10
I came here in August of 1992 to start a new business. With a 1 and 3 year old back in Roanoke VA I wanted my family with me as soon as possible and in June of 2013 we moved to north Raleigh off Norwood Road. We lived there for 8 years and then built a new home off Possum Track just a few miles down the road. It has been a great experience in so many ways. Good public and private schools for the kids, so many parks and lakes to walk around or boat on, fantastic and very convenient medical facilities, better than average transportation options, especially since I-540 was started, great weather (most of the time) and such a centralized location: 2 hours from the Atlantic Ocean and 3 hours or less from the Great Smoky Mountains. And there are sports teams and nightlife and shopping to keep anyone entertained. And if you are looking for a job or to start a company there are so many opportunities available to you. Great colleges and universities offer a very good labor pool. There isn't anything I don't like about the Raleigh area. I can highly recommend it to anyone looking for a safe, friendly and diverse place to live.
  • Report
timmcbrayerPosted on Dec 31, 2015
Moving to Raleigh was the best thing we ever did!

Attractions8/10
Community10/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
Moving to Raleigh 8 years ago has impacted us in so many positive ways. We left the Western New York area for greener pastures after researching a dozen other cities -- and it has been everything we hoped for and more. It's a vibrant, welcoming city. Some highlights: 1) We have had job opportunities like nothing we could have imagined up north. Better companies, better pay, much deeper professional community to become a part of. 2) The weather is great and the entire area is beautiful. Okay, the summers are really hot, but the fall and spring are lovely, and the winter is just enough winter to have seasons, while still being comfortably mild. It is a city of trees and well-manicured neighborhoods, and everything seems to be in bloom about 9 months out of the year. 3) People come from all over. So everyone accepts you instead of treating you as an outsider. In a neighborhood party, it's not unusual to discover that, say, 18 of the 20 people there came from somewhere else. 3) Retail? Raleigh has everything. I'm not much of a shopper, but it's nice to know that if you need it, you will definitely find it here. 4) Lots of great restaurants. Not just chains (though pretty much every chain is represented here), but nice places with character and charm. 5) Very nice public (free) museums. 6) There are terrific private schools. Our kids went to St. David's School and got/are getting and education like nothing we we had available in the entire WNY area. 7) Fantastic in-state colleges. The state schools are VERY reasonably priced for residents, and they are highly rated. 8) You're a couple of hours from the beach and a few hours from the mountains. Both are fantastic and deserve their reputable billing. The NC beaches are world-class, and the mountains have snow in winter and are glorious in the summer. 9) It's a conservative area made up of professionals who value hard work over government interference and religious tradition over anti-God activism. If you are a northern liberal, you will probably wish you never came. I'm hesitant to write a good review, because the one thing that is getting bad is traffic. People keep coming here. I wish the media would stop highlighting us so people would stop coming (I say that half-seriously). We love newcomers (like we were 8 years ago), but the roads really are getting overcrowded. We love Raleigh, and our kids do too. Instead of running away like they all do in the old rust-belt cities up north, our kids are heading back here after college.
  • Report
JPCPosted on Jul 12, 2015
Raleigh, NC....it's a Nightmare!!!!

Attractions3/10
Community4/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining6/10
Shopping6/10
Living in Raleigh is a bad decision. I regret a thousand times when I decided to move here. It's true that you can find a lots of amenities here and the weather is good but to be honest, anything of this worth it when you are looking for mentally peace. I am Puerto Rican and I am feeling the racism and I'm discriminated by others, both black and white. Receiving dirty looks and stupid comments all the time. The jobs opportunities aren't good. They pay a misery and the only thing the offer is part-time. There's no prosperity here. I had lived in others states before NC and nothing is compared with this. The place is good, the people ( majority ) don't worth it. Can't wait to leave this place!! I know many people going through the same as me. Not good for the Latin community. I agree with someone that posted a previous review saying " here they treat you as slave." Don't move here is you are latino.
  • Report
kristy100Posted on Jun 17, 2015
Raleigh's Rapid Transition From Rural To Metropolitan Character

Attractions8/10
Community7/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining7/10
Shopping9/10
I live in Raleigh and I'am definitely proud to call North Carolina's capital my home. The "City of Oaks" is without a doubt the cultural hub of the state. I enjoy exploring Renaissance era paintings at the North Carolina Museum of Art or studying the fossils of dinosaurs at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences. The permanent and changing exhibitions at the North Carolina Museum of History will satisfy the curiosity of any history buff. The most urbanized part of Raleigh is located along Fayeteville Street. The downtown area is very pedestrian friendly and the State Capitol grounds offer a nice chance to relax under the trees while doing some people watching and getting inspired by statues of George Washington, Governor Zebulon, Andrew Johnson and other political figures. The modern PNC Plaza skyscraper provides a nice architectural contrast to historic 19th century buildings such as the Briggs Hardware Store where the COR Museum operates. Although it has a sizable population of a typical medium-size city, Raleigh is mostly suburban in character especially in the sections outside the I-440 beltline. I live in northern Raleigh and I sometimes feel like I'm in an isolated suburb. The public transportation in Raleigh is limited to public buses and it seems that rapid transit services are nothing more than a dream for Raleigh. You definitely need a car to get around more than 90 percent of the city. However, Raleigh-Durham International Airport is very convenient to navigate as it doesn't have the traffic of a typical urban airport. Additionally, the general aviation terminal and observation park at the airport allow you to watch commercial and private jets take off and land. I'd say that these two venues are some of the best hidden attractions in the Raleigh area.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 17, 2014
The most over-rated city in America

Attractions4/10
Community4/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I really wish that I say good things about my 2 years in Raleigh, however; it wasn't that great of an experience. The city thrives on Forbes lists, yet when you arrive you'll find that the city lacks charm, energy, and has absolutely lacks cultural diversity. Most weekends and nights are boring if you don't eat (at the few eateries around town) or if you don't like to shop at the malls nearby. The long term citizens of Raleigh aren't welcoming, nor will they try to entertain you with their time. It was almost as if a lot of people had a chip on their shoulder. I don't want to this to seem as a rant and I can say that there are some new natural beauty about the city and maybe livable if you're a large, conservative leaning family. The crime was fairly tolerable but, I had an occasion where some friends from my hometown came to visit me in Raleigh, lo and behold my close friend was pick pocketed in Downtown Raleigh on their main street. This is a city that hides it's major crimes from the media. I'll conclude with this, don't get caught up in the hype of this town, it's really just a capital city.
  • Report
chrism885Posted on Jul 25, 2014
Raleigh is a MISTAKE

Attractions3/10
Community3/10
Nightlife3/10
Dining3/10
Shopping3/10
I have live here since April 2011, this is the most backward structure non progressive place to live or visit. I made a mistake moving here based on a relative. Their is no growth, I moved from NY, when I have interviewed for jobs the first comment is "was that really your salary" I am african-american woman, my NY salary was 6 figures, I worked in PR- I just wanted a part-time job WOW........ I am trying praying and trying to get to FL with friends or back to GOD's country NY. People of color are treated as slaves. DO NOT MOVE HERE
  • Report
Libra1012Posted on Apr 13, 2013
Travel To Raleigh, NC

Attractions10/10
Community9/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining9/10
Shopping10/10
I've lived in Raleigh, NC for many many years and I've yet to visit or drive through a city that offers as much as Raleigh does. The big city feel combined with the wonderful atmosphere may not be for everyone, but it's right for me. With a population of more than 400,000 it gives me the sense of living in a very large city without the hassles of a big city such as New York City or San Diego. The amount of help and dedication the citizens put in to making my city beautiful, is a testament to what type of environment it is. One of the first things that I love about Raleigh is the Dorton Arena. It seats thousands of people and really provides a upscale and luxurious place to watch an event. People from all over the country flock to this arena for grade A top quality entertainment each and every year. As you're driving in to Raleigh the first thing many people will notice right off the bat is the skyline. The elegant skyline created by all of our wonderful buildings gives you a big city feeling that you just can't help but smile when you see. It really is a place that I'm proud to call home. This city of mine is cram packed full of entertainment and things to do on a boring day. The North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences will entertain you for hours on end but also teach you a thing or two. The gorgeous scenery and tall buildings will provide eye candy for a long afternoon walk through the city which I, and so many people that live here enjoy. If you're looking for a place that oozes with creativity and excitement then come to Raleigh, NC today and see us!
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 25, 2011
Southern Comfort in Raleigh, NC

Attractions8/10
Community9/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining9/10
Shopping7/10
Raleigh, NC is the perfect place to raise a family. I have travelled to Raleigh numerous times throughout my life and am currently thinking about moving there permanently. From the waiter at a restaurant to the guy at the gas station, all of the locals are extremely friendly. Raleigh truly has a remarkable feeling of southern comfort. Every time I visit, I feel like everybody knows me. Another plus to Raleigh is that the crime rate is really low which is also great for raising a family. Since Raleigh is the capital of North Carolina, there are lots of historical attractions and other things to do in the city of Raliegh. If you are looking for a restaurant in Raleigh, Lilly's Pizza is the place to go. It is the best pizza I have ever had in my life! It will not disappoint. If you are looking for a warm welcome from locals, great attractions, tasty restaurants and a pretty good nightlife then I definitely recommend Raleigh, NC.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 30, 2010
Reason for reporting