Write a review about Plano Tell people what you like or don't like about Plano…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Steal You blind!

Attractions5/10
Community6/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining4/10
Shopping6/10
Was just reading your review. Sounds just like Vegas, where I am currently living. I am searching for a place with a mainly white population. I know that sounds racist, but after living in Las Vegas for almost two years I am tired of working with people who either don't speak or refuse to speak English. When I was growing up I was taught that it was rude to whisper to someone in front of someone else. I think it is just as rude when your fellow workers speak back and forth in Spanish in front of someone who is not fluent in the language. I'll tell you what really gets me though. In every interview either the first or second question is, "Do you speak Spanish?" Damn, I shouldn't have to! I am an American seeking work in America. Your problems of rudeness and crazy driving are nothing compared to seeing your line of work disappear to Mexicans, because they will work cheaper. I won't go into detail about how they manage that. Even when a workplace is raided and the illegals rounded up the business waits a few days and everyone is back. You haven't been swindled until you have been swindled by a Mexican.
  • Report
croneathomePosted on Oct 01, 2015
No, Plano is really very safe.

Attractions5/10
Community7/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
I was reading reviews of my town as I was attempting to assess how accurate the reviews were of other town. After the alarming review I read about Steal you blind etc. below I felt I had to write and in rebut. That review is laughable except for driving which is somewhat true albeit it is the same all over the DFW area. I live on the East side of town which for Plano is the older part of town. I have no fear walking outside my house alone any time of the day or night. There is no trash issues. As for dead bodies and people trying to run you down? LOL. Seriously this is a safe clean suburb. This a big suburb, I believe we are around 250000 people, and you can find bad neighborhoods and drugs if you look for them. If you are used to a very small town this place might seem busy but the area vibes assessment seems very accurate to me. I have lived here for 20 years, raised 3 kids here. I am not afraid. As I am looking for a place to retire and I use Plano as my comparison city all the time.
  • Report
LingPosted on Mar 01, 2015
Steal you blind, rob you, shoot you, or run over you

Attractions6/10
Community3/10
Nightlife3/10
Dining6/10
Shopping6/10
I lived here for 3 months because of my job, and I must say, Wylie, Sachse, Garland, and Plano area is by far the worst place I have ever been. The people are rude, drive like maniacs, almost every driving law is broken non stop. The people exceed the speed limit by 15 mph or more, make illegal u-turns in the middle of the road, and the presence of cops is almost non existent. Anyone and everyone will rob you blind. This is the only place I have been that someone with a run down, falling apart mobile home that would be considered condemned where I'm from, has security cameras and full perimeter fences guarding junk so no one will steal everything they have. Walking down the road, people will run over you. Dead people are found almost daily lying on the highways from being run over. Hit and runs are common. Most of the time you will have to step off in the ditch to avoid being run over. Also, they is so much trash everywhere, people throw trash bags full of trash in the ditches. Everywhere you look has trash and litter. To say Plano gets a A+ for crime, is total lie, people will rob you just for you cell phone, they will steal your UPS packages right off your porch, or even break into your house in the middle of the day to steal anything they can get their hands on. I am leaving this terrible awful state, and area. I came to Texas for the warm winter weather, and that was a huge mistake. Not even the warm weather could make up for the rude and dishonest people here. I will never come back here. I would pick Chernobyl as my home before Texas.
  • Report
pab271Posted on Jan 27, 2015
Little India

Attractions6/10
Community3/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining8/10
Shopping9/10
I moved to Plano 15 years ago and loved it. However, the demographics have changed drastically. If you are Indian you will love it. If not, you will be a minority, period. I am not saying this is good or bad, just stating facts. Plano has the largest population of Indians, percentage, wise than any other city in the country! The majority of the city is showing its age, the main areas that are nice are west of the Tollway. Where I used to shop for books, there is now a Condom Sense store and an Oriental Massage next door and a large bar across the street. The traffic throughout the city is terrible at any day and hour. The only good thing I can say about this city is that the shopping is good, esp. the Shops at Legacy. I do not enjoy living here now and am moving soon.
  • Report
kdwaltonPosted on Aug 16, 2014
Plano might be OK if it were not in Texas

Attractions5/10
Community3/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining5/10
Shopping5/10
FLAT land, very commercialized, lots of strip malls. Ugly place with an arrogance that defies logic. You might be able to hide in the schools and the loose community, but you are still in Texas where rich greedy white men run the state. There is shopping, very expensive high end stores, even the outlets are expensive. No diversity of race. Insanely high taxes, insurance costs, no healthcare, and the weather, if you enjoy 6 mos of not even being able to step outside because of the 100 plus humidity then maybe this is the place for you. Forget biking, hiking or even swimming in a pool. Too hot to go outside. If you are from the South, you have grown to live with the weather, which has become more brutal as Global Warming continues. There is NOTHING to do, In a month even museums in Dallas will be exhausted for you, no nightlife. If you MUST live in Texas, in Austin at least you get some return for your money.
  • Report
nasellerPosted on Jul 26, 2014
One of the best place to raise a family and retire

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
You get all you need. Good location Great schools Shopping Dinning Entertainment Parks Rec centers, gyms, pools Nature trails Low tax Responsible city government Great police,fire fighters, teachers Top notch Medical facilities, libraries Employers Everything DFW near by Great neighborhoods Two great downtowns Great mix of old and new, traditional and contemporary homes Established neighborhoods with sense of community and tree lined streets Great home resale Balloon Festival, Music Festival, July fireworks etc Wealthy part of the town is on West Side that borders North Dallas. We enjoy living here, raising our family is fun and intend to retire here as well.
  • Report
FriscoFrappePosted on Feb 04, 2014
Plano has its pros and cons

Attractions6/10
Community4/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining5/10
Shopping9/10
Plano is a large city, so there is no "family feeling" of a smaller community. People are from diverse backgrounds. There are a lot of transients, who are not here to put down roots in the community, and therefore have no real interest in making a contribution; in my opinion, that is one of the biggest problems with this area. I take my child to a church day school in the area, most of the other moms are snotty and unfriendly. Plano has great parks and schools, although the public high schools are too large. Nightlife is almost non-existent.
  • Report
SheilaThomasPosted on Nov 02, 2013
Great Place For All Stages of Life

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining8/10
Shopping9/10
Plano is a great place for young and old alike. Excellent schools, award-winning parks and library systems, and outstanding police and fire departmentsand make Plano one of the safest cities in the U.S. Plano was recently named "the best run city in America", which helps to explain the low city property tax rate. Housing is a bargain in Plano. Good choices in all price ranges. $250,000 will get you a well-built 15 year old house of 2,500+ square feet in a good neighborhood with great schools. Excellent night life in Legacy Town Center and in Historic Downtown Plano make it a destination for singles as well as couples. A strong employment center, Plano has world headquarters for Pizza Hut, JC Penney, Dr. Pepper/Snapple, Rent-a Center, Frito-Lay, etc. It also is home to major installations of Capital One, Ericsson, HP, Huawei, Denbury Resources, Encana, and many others.
  • Report
Quiet ManPosted on Aug 23, 2013
Surprising Plain Old Plano, Texas

Attractions8/10
Community10/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining7/10
Shopping9/10
Plano, Texas is a pleasant city. Driving through the tree lined streets of "downtown" Plano you can tell the town does okay financially. All the storefronts have busy businesses. Something not every small to medium sized city in America can say these days. There is a good mix of colors in the Plano population. Nearly two thirds of Plano citizens are Caucasian. Another third shared evenly between Asian and Hispanic families. The rest are affluent black Americans. Key words to describe Plano are families and affluent. Plano is a family oriented city if ever there was one. Plano is also highly affluent and received recognition more than once, as the wealthiest or richest city of its size in America. There are two reasons for that distinction. Texas is oil country. If you do not have income from oil, in Texas you may have a great job and salary working in some type of oil related industry. Plano is the headquarters for some major corporations or their subsidiaries. You might think such wealth would mean snobbery but this is Texas. Texans are the friendliest people in America. When my employer transferred me to Texas, we lived in Plano. Because of the corporate culture, families move in and move out with job postings. The average stay is about four or five years. A posting in Plano is a bonus during your career. There are the old families and the corporate citizens. Everyone generally gets along just fine. One Texas sized benefit of the wealth in Plano is the excellent school system. Plano schools have all the bells and whistles. More importantly, the teachers do a great job, as evidenced by nation leading test scores that Plano students and schools produce. Plano is a suburb of Dallas and is a great place to live.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Dec 20, 2011
Plano, TX - A Place Of Art, Trains, and Laser Tag

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
Plano, TX is full of fun activities and attractions for the entire family. We live an hour away, and love to visit this city as often as possible. For the art lover there is the ArtCentre of Plano, the Plano Metropolitan Ballet, and the Plano Symphony Orchestra. My kids had a blast at Fairview Far's. It's almost as if you step back in time and see what it was like in the old days. We have seen the mini trains at the Interurban Railway Museum. By far our best time in has been at Plano WhirlyBall LaserWhirld. It's a bit pricey, but LaserWhirld is two stories of fun for the whole family. My husband's favorite place to visit in Plano is the Arbor Hills Nature Preserve. They have expanded the preserve with a great new trail. Hike up and enjoy the view at the lookout tower. Hikers and nature lovers will forget they are in the city in this great park. If you have children be sure to stop by Animals Crackers for kids clothes. This shop is famous in the area and carries boutique clothing that is out of this world. All in all Plano is packed full of activities and shopping for everyone in the family.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on May 03, 2010
Reason for reporting