Plano, TX City Reviews

Write a review about Plano

  • •  Tell people what you like or don't like about Plano
  • •  Help others learn more about the city you live in or have traveled to
  • •  Win gift cards if your review is selected as "review of the month"

Plano Reviews

  • kdwalton reviewed Plano
  • August 16, 2014
Little India
Rating:
Recommended for no one it seems
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
I moved to Plano 15 years ago and loved it. However, the demographics have changed drastically. If you are Indian you will love it. If not, you will be a minority, period. I am not saying this is good or bad, just stating facts. Plano has the largest population of Indians, percentage, wise than any other city in the country!

The majority of the city is showing its age, the main areas that are nice are west of the Tollway.
Where I used to shop for books, there is now a Condom Sense store and an Oriental Massage next door and a large bar across the street. The traffic throughout the city is terrible at any day and hour.

The only good thing I can say about this city is that the shopping is good, esp. the Shops at Legacy.

I do not enjoy living here now and am moving soon.
  • naseller reviewed Plano
  • July 26, 2014
Plano might be OK if it were not in Texas
Rating:
Recommended for Couples
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
FLAT land, very commercialized, lots of strip malls. Ugly place with an arrogance that defies logic. You might be able to hide in the schools and the loose community, but you are still in Texas where rich greedy white men run the state. There is shopping, very expensive high end stores, even the outlets are expensive. No diversity of race. Insanely high taxes, insurance costs, no healthcare, and the weather, if you enjoy 6 mos of not even being able to step outside because of the 100 plus humidity then maybe this is the place for you. Forget biking, hiking or even swimming in a pool. Too hot to go outside. If you are from the South, you have grown to live with the weather, which has become more brutal as Global Warming continues. There is NOTHING to do, In a month even museums in Dallas will be exhausted for you, no nightlife. If you MUST live in Texas, in Austin at least you get some return for your money.
  • FriscoFrappe reviewed Plano
  • February 04, 2014
One of the best place to raise a family and retire
Rating:
Recommended for Retirees, Singles, Couples, Families
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
You get all you need.

Good location
Great schools
Shopping
Dinning
Entertainment
Parks
Rec centers, gyms, pools
Nature trails
Low tax
Responsible city government
Great police,fire fighters, teachers
Top notch Medical facilities, libraries
Employers
Everything DFW near by
Great neighborhoods
Two great downtowns
Great mix of old and new, traditional and contemporary homes
Established neighborhoods with sense of community and tree lined streets
Great home resale
Balloon Festival, Music Festival, July fireworks etc

Wealthy part of the town is on West Side that borders North Dallas. We enjoy living here, raising our family is fun and intend to retire here as well.
  • SheilaThomas reviewed Plano
  • November 02, 2013
Plano has its pros and cons
Rating:
Recommended for Retirees, Couples
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
Plano is a large city, so there is no "family feeling" of a smaller community. People are from diverse backgrounds. There are a lot of transients, who are not here to put down roots in the community, and therefore have no real interest in making a contribution; in my opinion, that is one of the biggest problems with this area. I take my child to a church day school in the area, most of the other moms are snotty and unfriendly. Plano has great parks and schools, although the public high schools are too large. Nightlife is almost non-existent.
  • Quiet Man reviewed Plano
  • August 23, 2013
Great Place For All Stages of Life
Rating:
Recommended for Retirees, Singles, Couples, Families
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
Plano is a great place for young and old alike. Excellent schools, award-winning parks and library systems, and outstanding police and fire departmentsand make Plano one of the safest cities in the U.S. Plano was recently named "the best run city in America", which helps to explain the low city property tax rate.

Housing is a bargain in Plano. Good choices in all price ranges. $250,000 will get you a well-built 15 year old house of 2,500+ square feet in a good neighborhood with great schools.

Excellent night life in Legacy Town Center and in Historic Downtown Plano make it a destination for singles as well as couples.

A strong employment center, Plano has world headquarters for Pizza Hut, JC Penney, Dr. Pepper/Snapple, Rent-a Center, Frito-Lay, etc. It also is home to major installations of Capital One, Ericsson, HP, Huawei, Denbury Resources, Encana, and many others.
  • AreaVibes Contributor reviewed Plano
  • December 20, 2011
Surprising Plain Old Plano, Texas
Rating:
Recommended for Couples, Families
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
Plano, Texas is a pleasant city. Driving through the tree lined streets of “downtown” Plano you can tell the town does okay financially. All the storefronts have busy businesses. Something not every small to medium sized city in America can say these days.

There is a good mix of colors in the Plano population. Nearly two thirds of Plano citizens are Caucasian. Another third shared evenly between Asian and Hispanic families. The rest are affluent black Americans.

Key words to describe Plano are families and affluent. Plano is a family oriented city if ever there was one. Plano is also highly affluent and received recognition more than once, as the wealthiest or richest city of its size in America. There are two reasons for that distinction. Texas is oil country. If you do not have income from oil, in Texas you may have a great job and salary working in some type of oil related industry. Plano is the headquarters for some major corporations or their subsidiaries.

You might think such wealth would mean snobbery but this is Texas. Texans are the friendliest people in America. When my employer transferred me to Texas, we lived in Plano. Because of the corporate culture, families move in and move out with job postings. The average stay is about four or five years. A posting in Plano is a bonus during your career. There are the old families and the corporate citizens. Everyone generally gets along just fine.

One Texas sized benefit of the wealth in Plano is the excellent school system. Plano schools have all the bells and whistles. More importantly, the teachers do a great job, as evidenced by nation leading test scores that Plano students and schools produce. Plano is a suburb of <a href="http://www.areavibes.com/dallas-tx/city-guide/" title="Dallas City Guide">Dallas</a> and is a great place to live.
  • AreaVibes Contributor reviewed Plano
  • May 03, 2010
Plano, TX - A Place Of Art, Trains, and Laser Tag
Rating:
Recommended for Couples, Families
  • Attractions
  • Community
  • Nightlife
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping
Plano, TX is full of fun activities and attractions for the entire family. We live an hour away, and love to visit this city as often as possible. For the art lover there is the ArtCentre of Plano, the Plano Metropolitan Ballet, and the Plano Symphony Orchestra.

My kids had a blast at Fairview Far's. It's almost as if you step back in time and see what it was like in the old days. We have seen the mini trains at the Interurban Railway Museum. By far our best time in has been at Plano WhirlyBall LaserWhirld. It's a bit pricey, but LaserWhirld is two stories of fun for the whole family.

My husband's favorite place to visit in Plano is the Arbor Hills Nature Preserve. They have expanded the preserve with a great new trail. Hike up and enjoy the view at the lookout tower. Hikers and nature lovers will forget they are in the city in this great park.

If you have children be sure to stop by Animals Crackers for kids clothes. This shop is famous in the area and carries boutique clothing that is out of this world. All in all Plano is packed full of activities and shopping for everyone in the family.