Write a review about Minneapolis Tell people what you like or don't like about Minneapolis…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
ll blacks move from racist state

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
How did the racist jurors make a decision after watching the black man being murdered by crocked cop. March brothers march and do not stop marching . March every day and every night and hold the officer accountable for what he did.
  • Report
LoukePosted on Jun 21, 2017
Lots To Do In Minneapolis!

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
I have lived in Minneapolis, Minnesota for two years. I was raised in two other Midwest states during my childhood. I previously lived in Michigan, and I recently relocated to Minneapolis from a small town in Iowa. In my humble opinion, Minneapolis is the best place to live in the Midwest. It is a very clean and attractive city. Minneapolis has it all. It is close to the best health care in America, at The Mayo Clinic. It is also home to The Mall of America, the largest shopping center in the United States. There are also several Retail Outlets locations that offer a great shopping experience. Twin Cities Premium Outlet Mall is my favorite, because of their selection and bargains. Sports fans can enjoy a professional baseball game watching the Minnesota Twins. During the colder months, the Minnesota Vikings will entertain you under the warmth of the dome. The Minnesota Timberwolves are also an exciting team to watch during basketball season. Minneapolis has several great bodies of water for anyone who likes to boat, ski, swim or fish. Summer in Minneapolis is full of fun and adventure. Minneapolis is also home to Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts. As a result some of the top chefs work and cook at many of the restaurants in town. Sea Change is one of my favorite seafood restaurants to dine at. There is only one down side to living in Minneapolis, Minnesota. It gets very cold in the winter. We also get a lot of snow. If you are relocating to the area, invest in a warm down parka. We live in parkas during the winter months. The only good thing about a Minnesota winter is it makes you appreciate when summertime comes!
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 17, 2014
Nice City/Decent People/Good Standard of Living

Attractions8/10
Community9/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
I lived in Minneapolis for about 14 years, starting in early 1990s. Of course, much has changed since then, and it has lost some of its small town appeal with the influx of immigrants. It has grown in population, too, or at least the metropolitan area, whereas the city proper has lost some population. Yes, the winters are harsh. I weathered them quite well, since I adapted to the style of dress required for this winter climate. I even engaged in much outdoor activity at the area lakes during the winter season. The other seasons, I enjoyed the lakes very much, for good exercise activity. Yes, its humid during the summers, and you can experience a lot of "up and down" weather - changing in pressure during the day. And, driving during the winter season can be extremely exasperating. I probably enjoyed my time in the city more so when I didn't own a car. It has great cultural experiences with wonderful museums and other attractions. Unfortunately, rental prices have increased quite a bit lately. If one is younger, then I highly Minneapolis to try out. Yes, culturally speaking, many native Minnesotans can be a little reserved, but the area for the most part, includes a calm, considerate, and civil populace. I would return to the state, however I know I just can not live in the winter environment anymore.
  • Report
VictoriaBrantPosted on Jan 17, 2014
Yeah you betcha, not really funny...

Attractions7/10
Community3/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining6/10
Shopping8/10
Hello. You might find this review negative however I have lived in Minnesota and was born here over thirty years plus now. Growing up in Central MN and always knowing of Minneapolis the "Big City" and traveling as a kid I desired to move there one day. Well, after college I moved to the city in 2000 and frankly quite disheartened of it now. Key points of discourse and dislike in no particular order, mind you. Ps. I have traveled overseas, lived in North Dakota for college, lived in western Massachusetts for a year and 9 months in Las Vegas, Nevada. 1) Traffic, absolutely the worst road system in the county! Really, put a major freeway 35W through the heart of the city. Every time I come into Minneapolis say from a drive from an out of town work event from a Southern state or Western state, 35W always has "retard" on the road. MNDot never forward thinking on planning for the future. Unlike, Boston, Washington DC., Oklahoma City, Ohio and so forth. 2) Yield, on the road. Twin Cities drivers have no conception of what this means. Read your driver manual from when you were 15 years old! 3) People are so unfriendly. The "quite, silent type", good down to Earth people. Whatever, the Swedes and Norwegians are a people of unfriendly, disrespectful and only thinking in terms of their little piece of grass. 4) Culturally. Still as "Caucasian" as ever, better than say in Central MN or the up on range. But far from other major cities like Chicago. PS. Across the river, Hmong-American community highest in the United States is in Saint Paul, Minnesota (29,662 population) www.factfinder2.census.gov. 5) Downtown skyline, ugly, dirty, no richness of historical buildings and the big deal IDS tower and the skyway system. Foshay Tower (1929) is about the best thing, unless you're a fan of the now called "Mall of America" dome, where the loser Vikings play. 6) Mall of America, shopping is a parking mess, but if you're a shopper enjoy. 7) Light rail, Hiawatha Line. Only helps out people traveling from MOA to downtown or both airports, however they are expanding to the University of Minnesota and downtown St. Paul. 8) The cost of living particularly housing costs and rental units. Granted it's not California or NYC costs but prepared for a two bedroom apartment unit to pay close to $800-1000 a month and a home purchase, okay, enjoy paying close to $200,000 for a descent sized / bearable neighbor. 9) The topography of Minneapolis is boring, lakes and lakes, mind you very populated and polluted. The great old Mississippi river, well don't expect to eat a fish out of it unless you love high amounts of lead and mercury. 10) Weather. Ah, this year "2011" not bad, no major amounts of snow so far. However, they talk of cabin fever in the Midwest; well Minneapolis will provide you this in abundance. I cross country ski, ice skate and snow shoe and my lack of vitamin D still happens here. Final thought... You might love Minneapolis and Minnesota as a state and think is the best thing since sliced bread, great! Happy for you, however, there are more unique and exchanging places to live in this county. Thanks.
  • Report
KronasPosted on Dec 22, 2011
Experience Cultural Fun In Minneapolis, Minnesota

Attractions8/10
Community9/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining7/10
Shopping7/10
If you want to travel to a city that is located in the beautiful state of 10,000 lakes, you might want scenic Minneapolis, Minnesota to be your next travel destination. I have traveled to Minneapolis, MN and I was very impressed with this cities' blend of exciting city life and relaxing, outdoor beauty. When you visit Minneapolis, you can experience a variety of rich, cultural events in its metrpolitan area, or you can get back to nature with its natural wonders, but no matter what you do when you visit Minneapolis, MN you can be sure you'll have an ecclectic mix of a trip that you will always remember. When I was in Minneapolis, I was very impressed with the artistic edge of this city. Minnesota has a cool music scene and is home to many talented local artists and I just loved the variety of places I could go to experience the fun of both of these creative endeavors. If you are like me and you love art, you must visit the Minneapolis Institute of Art when you visit this fun city. This museum is rated as one of the top 10 art museums in the country, and admission is always free which was a plus for me. Another fun place if you're a music lover is the Minnesota Bluegrass & Old Time Music Association. This is a non-profit organization that is helping to keep bluegrass music alive and they have many shows, programs, and festivals you can attend throughout the year, just like I did when I was there. In Minneapolis, there are also a variety of shopping destinations and eating establishments that will feed your hunger and help you find that special gift to bring home to friends and loved ones. There are also tours you can take, and outdoor spots where you can relax while inhaling the fresh air in places like the Minnehaha Falls Park or the Walking Trails Downtown. These walking trails provide scenic paths along the lake that go on for miles and they are perfect for bike riding. If you want to experience a fun vacation that is rich in culture, charm, and the beauty of the great outdoors, why not go to Minneapolis, MN for your next vacation? With its variety of fun activities, you can be sure that when you vacation to Minneapolis, you'll keep coming back year after year.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 25, 2011
Beware, stay far far away unless you're from Minnesota

Attractions7/10
Community3/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining6/10
Shopping6/10
Culturally, Minneapolis is great and the outdoors are beautiful, even in the heart of winter. However, if you move here and are looking to make friends (because you didn't bring them with you) you can forget it. The residents of this city grew up here, have their circle of friends here, and befriending people is nearly impossible. It's totally a provincial city. Numerous times I've invited neighbors for dinner, wine etc. They came, but never was there a reciprocal invitation. Now, I could say one or two people perhaps didn't hit it off, but over 4 years, the invitations went out to numerous people, some of whom overstayed their welcome ( so I thought they had a good time). The only people I met and liked and who liked me were not from Minnesota (unfortunately they end up moving away leaving you with the natives). You will never know passive aggressive "Minnesota Nice" until you work here. That's real treat. Why this city consistently ranks among the top ten places to live in this country is a mystery to me. The people of this city are impatient and rude. I'm moving far far away from here, and my social experience is the sole reason. I only wish I knew 4 years ago what I know now. You've been warned my friend. Oh, by the way, the Mall Of America is nothing more than a mall, seen one seen them all.
  • Report
Mr. USAPosted on Apr 19, 2011
Nose Hair Freezing Cold in Minneapolis, MN

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining10/10
Shopping7/10
The Minneapolis weather during six months of the year is fantastic. The trees are green and tall with beautiful lakes--the bald eagles fly high overhead above the Mississippi River. Minneapolis has four of the five nominations for the Mid-West for the James Beard award. Minneapolis is also one of three cities in the United States to have the "Dead Sea Scrolls" on view. A major attraction in Minneapolis is the Mall of America which has an indoor amusement park. In downtown Minneapolis you will find many attractions and some great restaurants, including my personal favorite Manny's Steakhouse. A classic Minneapolis restaurant to get your fill of meat and potatoes! The other six months is just "nose hair freezing cold". The temperature in Minneapolis during the winter can fall below zero on many days. Since moving to the city four years ago my sweater and big boot collection has grown substantially. Winter is a fun with snow mobiling, lots and lots of hockey, snow man building and snow tubing. The Winter Ice Festival complete with ice sculptures is held in January--Holidazzle in December. It seems as if there is always something going on no matter how cold, hot or rainy it gets here. The weather is the weather; what can be done other than to live life is the Minneapolis motto.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 30, 2010
Reason for reporting