Write a review about Lawton Tell people what you like or don't like about Lawton…
Review Lawton
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Can't wait to leave

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining6/10
Shopping4/10
I've lived here for a year. I hate it so much. I don't feel safe. We are moving in February back up north. Thank God.
  • Report
Brooketaylor1369Posted on Dec 03, 2017
A Great Place to Call Home

Attractions4/10
Community7/10
Nightlife3/10
Dining8/10
Shopping6/10
I love Lawton and I am so excited to see where it goes in the next 10 years. Lawton has been moving in the right direction thanks to the City's leadership. The leadership I am speaking of is not only that of the City Council but, the private business owners and citizens. There is such a huge sense of community here. There is an organization, LawtonProud, that spotlights the really cool things happening around the community and you can see everything on their Facebook page www.facebook.com/LawtonProud and the calendar of events at lawtonproud.com/events. There is always something going on.
  • Report
Lovebug3Posted on Mar 15, 2016
Lawton Proud

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I must say, Lawton, Oklahoma is definitely looking up! I've lived here my entire life and it has come along way. We have so may great restaurants to choose from these days and the shopping in town has improved immensely. I no longer feel the need to travel to Oklahoma City or Wichita Falls. There are so many great things to do and see here. There is the Fort Sill National Historic Landmark Museum, the Museum of the Great Plains and the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge (ranked the best Wildlife Refuge in the US in 2015) just to name a few. As for the crime, if you look at the latest statistics, Lawton has improved drastically and I feel safe here. There are sketchy parts of town just like any city, but I don't go to those kinds of places.
  • Report
JB1Posted on Jul 27, 2015
I too have been here most of my life!

Attractions6/10
Community4/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining5/10
Shopping6/10
Have been here since 1979 and it used to be fairly safe but not anymore! Too much crime! Wasn't too bad until hurricane katrina! We got thier gang banging welfare recipients that came for refuge and never left! The police are overwhelmed and understaffed so I suggest you install a damned good security system in your home if you have to live in this town! The old Central mall and a few new strip malls are ok for shopping. Dining is mostly sub standard. Lawton is way behind in the times on many levels. Would be nice to see a strip mall that had a nice deli, bakery, produce market etc with areas to enjoy eating outside like in alot of cities this size but... I dont see it happening! This place is loaded with pawn shops, seedy strip clubs and liquor stores and lower end bars! The only positives anymore is the wichita mountains, wild life refuge and local lakes which are all on the outskirts of Lawton! I highly suggest if you are military or just have to move here, find housing outside of town such as near the lakes or in nearby Elgin, ok. Much smaller but nicer and far safer!
  • Report
SissyPosted on Feb 16, 2015
My Whole Life In Lawton, OK

Attractions4/10
Community9/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining6/10
Shopping8/10
I am from Oklahoma and have lived in Lawton, Oklahoma all my life. Honestly, the town does not have much to offer in terms of entertainment, fun, restaurants, and so on. There is one mall called the Central Mall that everyone seems to hang out on weekends for shopping and movies but it is always the same thing with the same people. There are two clubs that are the most popular called the Gold Dragon Lounge and the Alley Cat Club. Again, you will notice that it is a lot of the same people who hob knob around these areas. Because of this, a lot of the clubs will actually host events together which is fun because a lot of the town gets together but it is still not that crazy. Most people drive into Oklahoma City to do their shopping or really fun activities. Occasionally, people will do outdoor activities such as camping and fishing but only when it is in season. Even for outdoor activities, you have to drive 20 minutes out of the town. The town does have a good small town vibe because there are a lot of little small shops. It is more fun to visit than live because you get used to it all. Chili's and Famous Dave's are probably the most fancy restaurants you will find here. As a native, I am not trying to be pessimistic but it is not the most ideal place to raise a family. There is a lot of crime (mostly drug because nothing else to do in the quiet town), lack of entertainment, small community (good and bad), boring weather (not super hot or super cold although there is sometimes snow), strip malls, and no real good restaurants.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jan 13, 2015
More than just a Wal-Mart, a strip club, and a military installation

Attractions6/10
Community7/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining6/10
Shopping6/10
Without Fort Sill, Lawton would just be a sleepy little cattle town. Your average outsider traveling through Lawton might automatically assume that Lawton doesn't have a lot to be desired for, due to its high crime, lack of bars/nightclubs, fast food restaurants, places of worship in strip malls, 3.3% ABV beer, but there are some things that make this town worth taking into consideration of appreciating. A favorite time of the year for the locals is high school football season, as cheery spirits can be felt as the city's rival high schools take on one another. People in Lawton are generally friendly. The Wichita Mountains at sunset on an early fall day is a breathtaking view. If you're into hiking, climbing, or nature walks, then the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge is an amazing place to go! The local business scene doesn't boom in comparison to other cities that are Lawton's size, but if you want a good meal somewhere, I definitely recommend the Silver Spoon. I've been in the army for about five years, with three of that being in the artillery, and Fort Sill has to be one of the nicest military bases that I've trained on. Cameron University is a great learning institution, and from what I heard from people who have gone there, it has very reputable ROTC programs, a nice campus, and is a laid back atmosphere with a variety of different degree offerings. The weather in Lawton is decent, and during the fall months, there isn't a better place in America you can be for good weather. Taxicab services are relatively inexpensive in comparison to a lot of cities out there. If you have some time to kill in Lawton, or are possibly moving into the area, look past its negative feedback and see how much of it you can really appreciate.
  • Report
ender406Posted on May 29, 2014
I hate it....

Attractions8/10
Community8/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining8/10
Shopping6/10
I have lived in lawton for a long time and let me tell you...IT SUCKS... so much crime and the police chief does little do try to fix the issues... the younger kids ...16-24ish cant go out and have a good time without killing you on accident or someone that they hate.. SOLDIERS BEWARE!!-female lawtonians mainly just want to use you to get out of this shithole and use you for your benefits...its so common to see a female that is 25...1-2 kids...that has been married to at least 4 different soldiers...the STD rate is pretty high because everyone sleeps with the same people..rent prices are RIDICULOUS...in a new apartment expect to be close to 1000 for a 2 bedroom..the mall is average...you know your town sucks when everyone is excited to see a Target come to town. I have been shopping at Target since the 80s no big deal to me.. there is no night life...unless you arent black... attractions include 2 casinos, mountain/hills and buffaloes.... Lawton is not a good place if you are a single person...but if you are married or with someone at least you have each other...that takes the pain away from living in such a bad place....good places to live are the east side or far far west...on a good note dallas is only a few hours away and okc is an hour away...trust me thats where you will go out for drinks or shop at the majority of the time
  • Report
Awarthen30Posted on Mar 30, 2013
Lawton, OK - A Friendly Community

Attractions4/10
Community7/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining5/10
Shopping4/10
There are not many exciting things to do in Lawton,OK. However, there are lots of museums and bowling alleys. The popular trend in this town seems to be fishing and camping. I spent most of my time at the movie theater. As you can tell, I don't like the outdoors at times. The communities in Lawton are very clean and friendly. The grass is so green and soft that I saw people put their food on a picnic blanket but lay on the grass. There are several gated communities that you cannot get in but they look beautiful from the outside. I loved the restaurants in Lawton, mostly because I am used to all of them. They had an Applebee's, Chili's, Famous Dave's, and Red Lobster. The nightlife in this city were a pleasant surprise. I visited Gold Dragon Lounge, Alley Cat Club, Alibis and Chili's Club, and they all had great drinks and music. Some clubs even partner up together for the people who club hop. If a club has a partnership with another club, you don't pay for the second club you go to. Central Mall is the only shopping offered in Lawton besides Wal-Mart and Target. There were few clothing stores and more electronics stores.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jul 06, 2010
Reason for reporting