Write a review about Indianapolis Tell people what you like or don't like about Indianapolis…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Keepin' It Real

Attractions2/10
Community1/10
Nightlife2/10
Dining2/10
Shopping1/10
Indy just plain sucks. It's a small town that really wants you to think it's a big city. There are about 50 urban hipster wannabees here who try to convince everyone else that the answer is MORE DENSITY which sort of makes sense because Indy is about as dense as Green Bay Wisconsin, no offense intended to the Cheeseheads. The reason that Indy is not dense is because the city has lost like half it's population over the last 50 years. Yeah, sounds great, right? So great that everyone can leave, leaves. Now they're closing MORE schools. This place is circling the drain. It's a good thing Detroit is just up the road. That keeps the attention elsewhere, but Indy is an epic fail by any reasonable measure.
  • Report
Old UrbanistPosted on Jun 28, 2017
Furious with the level of drugs and white russian/asian fascism

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
Not a place to live if you don't want to be reminded of the gross communists and nazis in the world. I just was refused to be taken to a hospital by EMT workers of white Asian origin ( they ALL already know about Germany ) probably drug users or part of that community making up fairy tales about the mechanics of their ambulance and then calling me the equivalent of...well no exactly what Soviet Nazis call me around the world and...it isn't a Jew ( European perhaps). And this type of sick 10th world number one in genocide, AIDS, drugs, of course no hospitals because obviously according to Silicon Valley all patients would be raped, etc, etc. Oh and no FOOD ! You are not paranoid if you think you are surrounded by Mid and West Asian Communists or Nazis or other ignoramus. I am furious because these people live in a bubble of cheap housing, breeding, drug community, the visual is of their own and that is what they want, and grandaddy is gay. Basically a mini me version of Silicon Valley.
  • Report
lurePosted on May 06, 2017
This town sucks

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining9/10
Shopping1/10
Have been living in Indy for about 2 months and must say, despite some pretty good restaurants, this place is an abject shithole. I've never been around a population that is softer and lazier. Don't get me started on the rampant ghetto attitude. Take some fucking pride in yourselves Indy! Fucking hate this place and will leave as soon as possible. All this coming from someone who lived in Detroit. At least those people have some heart and backbone. Biggest bunch of whiny little pussies in America. Your whole state sucks, Hoosiers.
  • Report
inkedchefPosted on Mar 20, 2017
Indy from a single, single parent, middleaged African-American femal Perspective

Attractions4/10
Community3/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining3/10
Shopping2/10
currently a resident of Indianapolis near downtown. For a single parent African American female Indianapolis is a decent enough place to live the crime is in my opinion too high. there are jobs but unless you are a professional don't expect to get paid much money. most entry level jobs start off at about $11 per hour minimum wage is around $8. Club scene is kind of boring while at the same time dangerous especially if you are under 30yrs of age. housing is somewhat affordable, it has improved in decent affordable housing over the past ten years. Public transportation is not very reliable or popular so unless you live central and work in the central to downtown area you should not expect to rely on it for employment purposes it. The routes are limited and the so are the hours of operation. Favorite things about Indianapolis is Zoo and parks, Least favorite is the high crime.
  • Report
EarlinebrwnPosted on Jan 10, 2017
As for the food

Attractions/10
Community/10
Nightlife/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
We on point. U wants some mc Donald's we got you. You want some gourmet stuff. We got you. We got target, Walmart, fancy big malls, ghetto ass big malls, outdoors big balls, guns, freedom, pizza, papa johns, Boston market. fro yo, we got u covered
  • Report
CourtneythehoosierPosted on Sep 13, 2016
Indiana weather is bs

Attractions/10
Community/10
Nightlife/10
Dining/10
Shopping/10
Um I was scrolling to find other places cuz I don't wont to liv in Indiana no more and I saw Indiana has a b in weather. That's some bs right there. We deserve a ----F. This weather bi polar af
  • Report
CourtneythehoosierPosted on Sep 13, 2016
Conformity is the Norm

Attractions4/10
Community1/10
Nightlife2/10
Dining2/10
Shopping3/10
If you're the sort of person who likes to fit in and follow the crowd, Indianapolis may be a good place for you to settle. This community values conformity and groupthink to an alarming level. I found it stifling and so I left. It was a good decision. On the plus side, Indianapolis is a relatively inexpensive place to live. In fact, many people point to its low cost of living as the number one reason to move there. They're proud of it. Unfortunately, it's not as cheap as the locals would have you believe. Sure, housing is cheap but groceries, energy and healthcare are relatively expensive. Indianapolis also taxes wages in a variety of interesting ways. When you add state, local and other taxes, you'll be surprised at how much you actually pay for the privilege of working in Indianapolis.Locals are also very fond of their downtown. There was a magazine named Livability that ranked it number two in the nation or something like that, which is nice. It is also absurd, as downtown Indianapolis was ranked higher than cities like Chicago, New York, San Francisco, Seattle, Denver and New Orleans. These are all cities with awesome downtowns. Downtown Indianapolis is nice, but it is not in the same class as these cities.What I found most annoying about Indianapolis is the city's raging inferiority complex. It wants to be taken seriously as a major city. Why this is important to them I do not know but it is. They actually have pep rallies on days before big Colts games and everybody is expected to wear their $175 jersey to show their support for the city. I'm taking adults with real jobs. Living in Indy is like being stuck in high school. People go out and get blitzed every weekend. There are cliques. It's bizarre. If you're one of those people who needs to belong, this may be your city. If, on the other hand, you're a mature adult, you probably will end up leaving eventually. Save yourself the trouble now. Just my two cents.
  • Report
Hoosier by BirthPosted on May 13, 2016
Speed Your Way to Indianapolis, IN

Attractions9/10
Community9/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
There is more than corn in Indiana! Right in the center of the state is a gem of a state capital, Indianapolis. I lived in Indianapolis about 20 years ago but moved 60 miles north when I got married. Now that we are retired we have talked about moving to Indianapolis. It has so much to offer. If sports are your interest you are certainly in the right place. Indianapolis is home to the Indianapolis 500 Motor Speedway. May is the month for the qualifications and race which should be on every bucket list. The museum is open year round. The former super bowl champions, the Indianapolis Colts make their home here. We also have the NBA Pacers, the Indianapolis Ice (hockey), and the Indianapolis Indians baseball team. The performing arts are alive and well in Indianapolis. The Indiana Repertory Theatre and Indianapolis Symphony make their home downtown on the circle. There are community theatres scattered around neighborhoods in the city; The Phoenix, Theatre at Fountain Square, Madam Walker Theatre and Indianapolis Civic Theatre. For sailors there is a wonderful club at Eagle Creek Park. A day's sailing is not complete without stopping by Rick's at the Boatyard for dinner where there is usually live jazz. There are folks who prefer speed in their boats and that can be found at Giest Reservoir where skippers can motor up dockside to a variety of restaurants. For families nothing beats the Indianapolis Children's Museum or the Indianapolis Zoo. Other museums include the Indianapolis Art Museum and the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art. Indianapolis recently opened a new airport. It is beautiful, but in my opinion, it is not conveniently located and parking is very difficult. I miss living in Indianapolis and am seriously considering returning.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 23, 2011
Indianapolis Plus Ellenberger Park Equals a Family Affair

Attractions8/10
Community6/10
Nightlife7/10
Dining9/10
Shopping7/10
Every time I visit Indianapolis I have an AMAZING time! One of my favorite places to visit is Ellenberger Park. I know it sounds cliche, but it's truly fun for the entire family. With swimming, tennis, ice skating, and a huge playground; you can't go wrong. Also, depending on the time of year you visit, you can catch hockey games being played by various leagues. To top it all off, the scenery is a sight ripped straight out of a tourist magazine. Ellenberger Park is filled with streams and winding paths shaded with beautiful willowy trees. A quip I have about Indianapolis is the lack of diversity outside of major festivities, such as the International Festival and the Black Expo Summer Celebration. Other than that, it seems to be your usual corporate business crowd. Also, I found that hotel room rates during conventions were extremely expensive. If you plan to visit, I'd suggest getting a hotel room on the outskirts of the metropolitan area without sacrificing convenience.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 29, 2010
Reason for reporting