Write a review about Boston Tell people what you like or don't like about Boston…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
One more thing to add

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
Sorry- my discussion of Boston would be incomplete without my mention of crime. Talk about hatred. Boston is a great place to live if you're someone who likes being kept up several nights a week due to blaring police sirens and people screaming and cops yelling.
  • Report
Anonymous2012Posted on Mar 01, 2017
Get Me Out of Here

Attractions5/10
Community4/10
Nightlife3/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
If you are planning to move to Boston, do yourself, your family, your finances, and your dignity a favor and don't bother. This has got to be the worst city on surface of the country. The people are extremely racist and law- borderline unconstitutional in its treatment of blacks, Muslims, and other minorities. Blacks are thieves, Muslims are terrorists, and Indians, objects of jokes and teachings. White supremacy is the mantra. Unless you have a Harvard education or own a giant business, you will be either laid off, poor, or both while receiving no help and genocidal hatred from the wealthy, so- called "capitalist" conservatives. Education is terrible- the schools have some of the lowest scores in the nation. Weather wise, we have been hit so hard by global warming that we have received no snow for about 5 years in a row, 80- deg. days throughout February, and thunderstorms, tornadoes, and hurricanes (Irene and Sandy)- events that aren't even supposed to occur in the Northeast. Someone tell me why on earth the East Coast is still the most populous part of the US.
  • Report
Anonymous2012Posted on Mar 01, 2017
Boston, MA - Ups and Downs

Attractions7/10
Community6/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
I've lived in Boston, MA for most of my life, in or around the heart of the city. It is a wonderful city and has its ups and downs. It's broken up into many different neighborhoods. Each of the neighborhoods offers a different lifestyle and level of safety. There are a couple of neighborhoods that I would recommend avoiding as much as possible, especially at night. One of the neighborhoods is East Boston. Although there are some good areas of this town, the crime rate is pretty high. Dorchester, South Boston and Roxbury are other areas you should avoid due to high levels of crime. The two neighborhoods I've lived in Boston are the Back Bay and the South End. Both of these neighborhoods are excellent places to live, as well as visit. They are the most expensive areas of the city, but have top-notch shopping, dining and living. Visit Newbury St, Boylston St and Tremont St for excellent restaurants with a variety of cuisines and amazing boutiques and stores. For the sports lover, Fenway Park is the best landmark in the city. If the Red Sox are playing and you can't get a seat in the park, head on over to Lansdowne St for a fun experience. Sports fans will be lining the streets and local bars watching the hometown boys win. Other attractions to see are TD Bank Garden, Faneuil Hall and the Freedom Trail. Boston the best city for people who don't own cars. You can get anywhere in the city by subway, bike or even walking. Since parking is not only hard to come by, by can be expensive, having the option to ride a bike to work is a definite plus. The city has New England weather, not much you can say about it except that it is unpredictable. No matter what time of year, it's best to have clothes appropriate for all weather types. Boston is an all-around excellent city, if you know the places to go.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 24, 2011
Boston - My Favorite City

Attractions8/10
Community6/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I lived in Boston from 2000-2002, and was a fantastic place to live. My place was on Route 60 in Malden, MA, just a short couple of exits up I-93 after you pass the old Fleet Center (that's what it was when I lived there). In fact, every time I get back up north to visit family, I make sure I try to take in a Celtics game, or visit the North End for some of the best Italian food and pastries you can get. It's really difficult to park on Hanover St., so you want to park elsewhere, and take the train in. I remember when I lived there, they actually had finished the "Big Dig" project and finally opened up the Mass Pike underneath the city. What a project that was - the largest, most expensive civil project in the history of the US: http://www.massdot.state.ma.us/Highway/bigdig/bigdigmain.aspx If you have a chance to visit the city, you should definitely stop by Quincy Market - just get on the red T and get off Government Center. In the summer, they have some great sidewalk shows, shopping and more. You also might want to check out Newberry St., which has a nice variety of sidewalk restaurants and cafe's, and then you can walk down Mass Ave. and visit Tower Records and Urban Outfitters. For nightlife, there is always Landsdowne St. behind Fenway Park that has a bunch of clubs and bars, but really, the best places are those "hole in the wall" Irish pubs you find that are the best.
  • Report
ryankellyPosted on Jan 18, 2011
Living In Boston, MA

Attractions9/10
Community7/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining9/10
Shopping10/10
I chose to move to Boston, Massachusetts five years ago and have never once regretted the decision. It's a great place to live. One of my favorite things about the city is the availability of public transportation. I love that I never have to rely on my car to get around. In fact, the city is designed in a way that I can walk or ride my bike just about anywhere I want. However, there is one big thing that I dislike about the city, which is the fact that everything is very expensive. Whether it is drinks, groceries, or parking spaces, the prices are always ridiculously high. With that said, Boston is a smart city. We have higher income and education per capita, which makes up for the high prices that it costs to live here.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jan 03, 2011
The Unique Treasures of Boston, MA

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining10/10
Shopping9/10
I stayed with a friend in Boston for three weeks while making brief trips to other parts of New England. I often had days to explore alone or travel with him throughout the Boston area. I saw many sights and experienced many things but one stood out among them all. I walked the Freedom Trail and was in awe of the historical richness of the town, visited King's Chapel and Chinatown, Beacon Hill and loved the U.S.S. Constitution. There is little in Boston you cannot buy, and there is an abundance of things to do and see. But Boston's treasure, to me, was its people. I found them gracious, generous, humorous and truly the best attraction of all.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jan 03, 2011
Boston, MA - My Kind of City!

Attractions10/10
Community10/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining9/10
Shopping9/10
When visiting Boston in May 2010, I found neighborhoods with separate and individual character, brownstone filled streets, the Red Sox baseball team, and plenty of nightly entertainment. Beacon Hill is one of Boston's most popular and historic neighborhoods. If you enjoy walking like I do, strolling down Charles Street you will see antique shops, cafes, and clothing boutiques. The only downside here is that you will need plenty of money! I spent some time at the 1369 Coffee House, saw musical theater at Berklee Performance Center, caught a game at Fenway Park, and visited some of the most historic places in the United States. I only got to spend 3 days in Boston. My next trip I will make at least a week. I loved it.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jan 03, 2011
Boston, MA - Great Vibe!

Attractions9/10
Community9/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining8/10
Shopping8/10
I have been a resident of Boston since I graduated college and entered the workforce two decades ago. I love the vibe of the city. It is full of history but at the same time is modern and hip. It is on right on the water and there is always something going on in the city. You can find great food, entertainment, and beautiful parks in just about every neighborhood. It is hard to not find something to peak your interest in Boston. There are historical walks, churches, museums, great shopping and other attractions in the city. I love the outdoor concerts in the spring and summer. The cost of living can be a bit high but it's worth it to live in such a great place. There are a lot of different neighborhoods in the city that offer housing from historical to ultra modern. When I started working in Boston I assumed it would be temporary due to having just finished college. Over the years I feel in love with the city. It is a great place to work and live.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Jan 03, 2011
Boston, MA - From Fenway Park to Sam Adams Brewery

Attractions8/10
Community10/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining9/10
Shopping8/10
I was able to take in the city of Boston during my 4 day trip in June/2009. First of all, the city is surrounded by water, which makes for great scenery when walking the outskirts of the Boston. I found the local Boston residents to be incredibly friendly and passionate about their city, especially when talking about the Red Sox. So passionate that I was convinced to take in a Red Sox game at Fenway Park. The stadium lives up to all expectations and is worth the visit. During my second day in Boston, I decided to visit the Sam Adams Brewery for a tour. I was able to learn about the history of Sam Adams...and then drink it! The tour lasted about 1hr and shows you the entire brewing process from start to finish. The beer is delicious and all they ask for is a small donation. At night I visited a few bars in the Beacon Hill area. There were many options and I ended up hitting a few of them. The most surprising part was that the street vendors served steak sandwiches from their carts for those who had the munchies after a few drinks. Being used to hot dogs and sausages, this was a real treat! Overall, my time came and went all too quickly during my trip to Boston. It was a fun trip and I will return for sure...
  • Report
AV JonPosted on Nov 08, 2010
Boston, MA - Experience the City by Foot!

Attractions10/10
Community9/10
Nightlife9/10
Dining10/10
Shopping10/10
Boston is a great city to explore with a good pair of walking shoes in tow. The blossoming spring is especially beautiful at the Public Gardens. The Public Garden is within walking distance from the Hatch Shell concert area located next to the Charles River Esplanade. The Hatch Shell is an outdoor concert venue that is widely known for the popular 4th of July Boston Pops concert held there each year. The Charles River esplanade is great for walking, biking, rollerblading or people watching. The architecture in the city of Boston is detailed and historical. Sometimes I walk for a few miles and take pictures of some of the wonderful buildings I see along the way. You will also find some cheap eats at many of the great restaurants in Boston. I prefer not to drive in Boston because everyone seems to be in a hurry and there is a lot of traffic. I love living in Boston because I don't even need a car to get around. I can walk practically everywhere or take the subway if I want to explore further. I stay fit and entertained at the same time by the many sights in Boston.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Apr 29, 2010
Reason for reporting