Write a review about Augusta Tell people what you like or don't like about Augusta…
Rate and Review
Overall rating Rollover stars and click to rate
Rate local amenities Rollover bars and click to rate
Attractions0/10
Community0/10
Nightlife0/10
Dining0/10
Shopping0/10
Avoid if possible

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining3/10
Shopping3/10
Pathetic excuse for a town. I lived there, or should a say endured, almost 6 years. It’s not a place for getting ahead, it’s for existing and being subjected to the intolerable high level of crime that exists on multiple levels as detailed below.City size:Based on population Augusta is technically a village with
  • Report
SkooterPosted on Jul 10, 2016
The City needs to do better

Attractions1/10
Community1/10
Nightlife1/10
Dining1/10
Shopping1/10
I recently just visited Augusta an when i say boring theres nothing going on... Down town is not attractive at all because theres nothing but old closed up building. The city of Augusta should be ashamed. They have nothing to offer.. The shopping is boring nothing to offer.. An you get harrass by the nasty police offiers.. I dont recommend anyone to go there... Just plain boring... Catch up Augusta
  • Report
Bill Jackson Posted on Jun 22, 2016
10 Years In Augusta, GA

Attractions6/10
Community9/10
Nightlife4/10
Dining7/10
Shopping4/10
When I moved to Augusta about ten years ago, I didn't know what to expect. The area is beautiful. I can sit on my front porch and watch as kids ride their bikes on the sidewalk and elderly couples hold hands while they walk in the evening. This is a town perfectly suited for a family. There are areas where I've learned that you need to stay away from, but for the most part, I enjoy living in the city. The prices for homes are slightly less expensive on the outskirts than they are in the city limits. The best option is to try to buy a home so that you don't have to pay rent. Augusta isn't a city that has a lot of activities at night. It's more of a town where you gather together with family and friends to enjoy time spent together. There are more strip malls than there are shopping malls. This is something I like, but I miss shopping at the name brand stores that offer the trendy clothing. While I was in college, I majored in art, so I was thrilled to find that there are a few art museums in the city. The Morris Museum of Art has displays that change frequently, and I've found that they are modern compared to some of the other museums. There are a lot of steps to climb though, so be prepared to walk. The Imperial Theatre is a place to go if you like seeing live shows on stage. The seats are good throughout the building, and the prices are reasonable.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Nov 17, 2014
Depends on the family

Attractions6/10
Community9/10
Nightlife5/10
Dining7/10
Shopping8/10
Augusta....Augusta. Careers in healthcare are the dominant field here. This can make a nice home for a family. There are free events in the Evans, Grovetown and Downtown. A lot of the people are military and the communities are diverse. Crime downtown?????YES! I would say there is crime here but they have been consistently hiring officers to make a change in the downtown area. Although their mall is fairly small and there is only one, it is growing. This is a small town where knowing someone will get you the job before your qualifications unless you plan on working on the army base. I would say it is fairly rough on employment especially for those exiting the military. Homes are cheap and beautiful. If you have children stay away from Richmond County. Columbia county has more funds and there are better opportunities for their students. It is hard enough to receive a decent education in the south already why make it harder for them in Richmond County. Car dealerships kind of suck if you ask me. There isn't a lot of competition within the same company of cars so they can name their prices on services and repairs. So car repair from the dealer can be pretty unreasonable. Another con....small town ignorance. Of course you have the people who know a lot about nothing and no one. A lot of people believe typical stereotypes so be prepared to hear some offensive comments(if you are not Christian, etc). For the most part people are nice and its growing tremendously. Make sure you subscribe to the local newsletter otherwise little gems of Augusta could go unnoticed. They have universities here so if you have a high school grad they have options to stay home. (So you can keep and eye on your always growing baby and continuously do their laundry....lol) Ow yea nightlife.....non existent. Unless you get with a few good friends then just about anything you do is fun. Few bars packed so tightly on some nights you would rather play beer pong at home with friends(and pull out the grill of course)
  • Report
Mrs_TiffanyPosted on Dec 10, 2013
Augusta GA Need More Stuff

Attractions4/10
Community5/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining6/10
Shopping7/10
Add 10 Buildings To City To Make It More Noticible Add Trolleys And Those Horse Riding Things To The Middle Of THe Streets City Because Some People Would Like To Explore Augusta GA And Would Be Tired Of Walking From Space To Space. Expand The River Half A Mile And Push The Riverwalk Far Back To Have More River Area So We Would Be Able To Have Ferrys Following That Have Resturants, Cafes, Bars Trolleys Along The River. Fourth Add Some Trees To Augusta And What I Mean By Trees Is Peach, Moss, Pine Trees. Make The Town Look Spanishy
  • Report
Tjay0728Posted on Apr 05, 2013
Seriously hit by the economic down turn

Attractions5/10
Community6/10
Nightlife6/10
Dining6/10
Shopping5/10
I know an opinion of a place comes from the background of the reviewer, but it makes me wonder if the other reviewers are talking about the same place I live. Yes this place does get the Master's golf tournament, but this doesn't really have an impact on the area except for the week it happens. The course is closed up tighter than the Army Base and the tickets run upwards of $1200. Augusta is a place where the very rich and the very very very very poor live within miles of each other. This area has been HARD by the economic down turn and its evident everywhere. Downtown is riddled with boarded up businesses and decaying buildings. South of Downtown is the neighborhood of Turpin Hill which looks like present day Pripyat, Ukraine, only still housing people. Along side the Fort Gordon Highway there is abandoned shopping mall still displaying the Montgomery Wards sign. There are nice neighborhoods and a handful of good restaurants in Evans and the burbs of Downtown, but unless you have a job cemented when you get here or family to help support you, you will be too broke to enjoy them. The unemployment here is unreal. A friend of mine left her family to go work for a contracting company in Qatar because she had been unemployed for two years. I wish I could find the "vibrant nightlife" people have told me is here, but so far its been a handful of bars and a few clubs. Bottom line is, the cost of living might be "affordable" but remember, you get what you pay for.
  • Report
grrrrl97969Posted on Apr 03, 2013
Top 3 Reasons Augusta is Where You Want to be for a Good Time

Attractions6/10
Community8/10
Nightlife10/10
Dining9/10
Shopping7/10
As someone who was proudly born and raised in Augusta Georgia I realize that this amazing city is mostly known for the University of Georgia (go Dawgs!) and has a reputation for being one of the top party cities in the state. While it is true that the nightlife is amazing there many other great things about Augusta. Here are my top 3 reasons I'm proud to be a resident of this amazing city. Restaurants: If you're not from the South you may have the misconception that all we eat are grits and chitlins. This couldn't be further from the truth and Augusta has an incredible variety of restaurants, diners and taverns to chose from. One of our most popular restaurants is actually the Taj of India, famous for their incredible Indian cuisine. Other good choices include the Bonefish Grill and Frog Hollow Tavern. When it comes to food, Augusta has something for everybody! Nightlife: As with any major college town Augusta is rockin' the party scene. Finding the action isn't hard, just look to any of the popular clubs and bars such as the Loft of Augusta, Sky City or the Coyotes Nightclub. As with the food there is a huge amount of diversity when it comes to nightlife. If you want some Latin beats head over to the Tropicabana Club. If you want something a bit more edgy try the high-tech Vue (Visual User Environment) Nightclub. If you're looking for something a a bit more traditional be sure to check out the Country Club Dance Hall and Saloon. Community Events: Augusta has always had a strong sense of community. From college events to concerts there's plenty to keep you occupied and connected to your fellow Georgians. If you're into comedy you'll be happy to know that you can find popular comedians such as Jerry Seinfeld and Lewis Black preforming at the Bell Auditorium and other venues.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on Dec 19, 2011
Augusta, GA - More than just the Masters!

Attractions9/10
Community10/10
Nightlife8/10
Dining10/10
Shopping8/10
Perhaps best known as home to the Masters Golf tournament, there is so much more to Augusta than golf! Augusta exudes southern charm. Ideally situated on the stately Savannah River, Augusta is a haven for those who like to canoe, or simply stroll the river's banks. For those who delight in touring the antebellum mansions of the old south, Augusta, GA will seem like heaven. Nearby Fort Gordon is in Augusta and is proud to be the home of the U.S. Army's Signal Training Center. Cultural attractions and entertainment venues are plentiful in Augusta. Dozens of national chains offer lodging in the city of Augusta. A nice, comfortable room can be found at the Baymont Inns and Suites for under $100. Augusta restaurants famous for southern style cooking and savory seafood abound. We like to eat at the Boll Weevil and recommend you either come very hungry or you split a meal because the portions are huge! They also have a selection of mouth watering desserts.
  • Report
AreaVibes ContributorPosted on May 05, 2010
Reason for reporting